2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

2017

2017年亞洲藝術創變者大獎得主對談

杉本博司

杉本博司的創作跨越攝影、雕塑、裝置和建築,作品透過圍繞時間、經驗主義和形而上學思想的不同主題,探索歷史和短暫存在的概念,藉此連貫東西的意識形態,反思時間、感知和意識來源的本質。杉本於1948 年生於日本東京,之後在東京和紐約生活及工作,並於2011年出版《Sense of Space》一書,以藝術家的角度表現國際博物館的空間。杉本曾在世界各地的博物館舉行個人展和群展,包括2014年於J. Paul Getty Museum2010年的第17屆悉尼雙年展、2001年的橫濱三年展、1995年的里昂當代藝術博物館第三屆雙年展和1991年的卡內基國際展。他的作品被多間博物館收藏,包括倫敦泰特美術館、芝加哥當代藝術館、紐約大都會博物館和紐約當代藝術館。杉本多年來獲獎無數,2013獲頒法國藝術與文學勳章、2009高松宮殿下紀念世界文化獎繪畫獎、2006年的西班牙國際攝影暨視覺藝術節,以及2001年的哈蘇國際攝影獎。

韓志勳

韓志勳的抽象畫享譽藝壇,是香港最備受推崇的視覺藝術家之一。他在1960年開始繪畫抽象畫,並於雅苑畫廊舉辦首個個人展,又於1965年聯合創辦現代藝術先驅組織「中元畫會」,翌年創作了第一輯絲印版畫,是1968年首批獲得洛克菲勒三世基金會(現為亞洲文化協會)獎助金的香港藝術家之一。他在紐約由著名的Willard Gallery畫廊擔任代理。韓志勳在60年代末至80年代末頻繁遊歷各地,於1988年在現名香港大學美術博物館的馮平山博物館開設個人畫展;香港藝術館於1989年製作的《光的故事》紀錄片,介紹了這位大師的作品。韓志勳在1992年移居加拿大,再於2000年重返香港。同年,他不幸中風,香港文化博物館剛好完成製作《韓志勳版畫創作》紀錄片,蔡仞姿亦出版了《恆迹:韓志勳作品集》一書。已屆90高齡的韓志勳仍然醉心繪畫與書法,並在2013年獲香港特別行政區政府頒授榮譽勳章,表揚其卓越的藝術成就。

金守子

金守子是備受推崇的國際多媒體藝術家,其錄像、裝置和表演尖銳地回應關於文化、政治、歷史和身份的議題,特別是流徙的個體。她透過靜止不動的作品,探討表演的概念、審美和結構,突出其藝術觀念,成為極具個人獨特風格的藝術家。金守子的作品廣在國際展出,包括個人展和群展,如2016年於首爾國立當代藝術博物館、2015年於龐比度中心梅茲分館、2006年於馬德里索菲亞王后國家藝術中心美術館、2001年於紐約現代藝術博物館PS1分館、1998年的第24屆巴西聖保羅雙年展、第48495152屆威尼斯雙年展,並於2013年代表韓國參加第55屆威尼斯雙年展。

Rashid Rana

Rashid Rana 擅長製作概念雕塑和錄像,他以照片組成的拼貼圖大膽解構社會歷史和文化疏離,反映了時間的二元性。他曾參與不同的大型展覽,包括2015年第56屆威尼斯雙年展的平行展「My East is Your West」、2013年於卡拉奇Mohatta皇宮博物館、2011年於曼徹斯特Cornerhouse藝術中心、2009年於紐約亞洲協會美術館和2010年於巴黎吉美博物館等。Rana被委任為2017年拉合爾雙年展藝術總監,目前是拉合爾Beaconhouse國立大學視覺藝術及設計學院美術系主任,亦是該系的創辦人。

藝術講座

藝術與城市:香港當代藝術家交流會 

322日(星期三)下午2:003:00

主持:陳少東(亞洲協會香港中心麥禮賢夫人藝術館館長)

講者:黃浩然(藝術家)、黃頌恩(藝術家)和黎仲民(藝術家)

亞洲協會香港中心舉辦的《喘息空間:香港當代藝術展》,探討及分析在節奏急速的香港生活的壓力。當中展出多位本地藝術家的作品,探索了都市生活、時事或個人與集體回憶。參展的藝術家亦會在Art Central展出其作品,討論當中的共同主題。

 

21世紀文化領袖論壇 

323日(星期四)下午2:003:00

主持:李宜芳香港東方藝術週創辦人及《Orientations》雜誌出版人

講者:Tim Reeves倫敦維多利亞和艾伯特博物館副館長及營運總監)、Tina Colayco菲律賓馬尼拉大都會博物館總裁)和Maud Page悉尼新南威爾斯美術館副總監及藏品總監

博物館和文化機構需要共通的哲學和全球教學,把理念傳送給本地和國際的參觀者。當要建立備受吹捧的藏品系列、深刻的審美學和獨特的觀點時,又要考慮甚麼重要元素?這個講座會把不同的出色文化機構相提並論,就其發展策略、目標和理念作出比較。

 

散落在時光之中

324日(星期五)下午12:301:30

主持:陳文輝(亞洲協會全球文化藝術項目副會長兼紐約亞洲協會美術館館長)

講者:Rashid Rana(藝術家及拉合爾雙年展藝術總監)

 

靜謐與光:與杉本博司對話 

324日(星期五)下午2:003:00

主持:伍穎瑜( 亞太藝術》雜誌編輯兼出版人)

講者:杉本博司(藝術家)

著名日本藝術家杉本博司在這個貼身對談中,縷述了他的生活和工作,還有他成立的小田原文化基金會,通過公共展覽和研究所有種類和時期的藝術創作,製作和推廣古典戲劇藝術和前衛的舞台藝術。

 

針的百態:與金守子對話 

324日(星期五)下午3:304:30

主持:Kim Machan亞太多媒體藝術節創辦人兼總監

講者:金守子(藝術家)

韓國藝術家金守子採用靜止、禪修和連續的方式,模糊了審美、超然和短暫經驗之間的界線,並巧妙地運用光線,為她的雕塑和裝置注入生命。對談透過這些手法,加上她的表演和影像創作,闡釋她曼妙輕柔作品的內涵和個性。

 

遊走東西:跟韓志勳一起回顧藝術之路 

325日(星期六)下午1:302:30

主持:韋一空教授(香港中文大學研究院藝術系系主任)

講者:韓志勳(藝術家)

香港最受敬重的視覺藝術家韓志勳從事藝術創作半世紀,罕有在講座中暢論作品的精妙細節。主持和韓志勳一起探討他在50年代最早期的畫作,直到千禧年代初的新作。

 

Art Central 行為藝術:從政治到詩學 

325日(星期六)下午3:004:00

主持:Mikala Tai悉尼 4A 當代亞洲藝術中心總監

講者:Anida Yoeu Ali(藝術家)、鄭得恩(藝術家)、Tobias Gumann(藝術家)、Amrita Hepi(藝術家)和Uji Handoko Eko Saputro或名Hahan(藝術家)

由悉尼 4A 當代亞洲藝術中心總監及Art Central行為藝術 X 4A策劃者擔任主持,與四位進行實驗表演的當代藝術家展開互動對談,探討在商業藝展中表演藝術的角色,以及國際藝術潮流如何塑造及滲入他們的創作。

2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT
HONG KONG

2017

2017 ASIA ARTS GAME CHANGER AWARDS HONOUREES

Hiroshi Sugimoto

Hiroshi Sugimoto’s singular practice spans the mediums of photography, sculpture, installation, andarchitecture. His art deals with history and temporal existence through a variety of subject matter issues surrounding time, empiricism, and metaphysicsthat bridge Eastern and Western ideologies while examining the nature of time, perception, and the origins of consciousness. The artist was born in 1948 in Tokyo, Japan, and lives and works in Tokyo and New York. In 2011, he published Sense of Space, a reflection on international museum spaces from an artist’s perspective. Sugimoto’s work has been presented in numerous international solo and group exhibitions among them The J. Paul Getty Museum (2014); 17th Biennale of Sydney (2010); Yokohama Triennale (2001); 3rd Biennale d’art contemporain de Lyon (1995); and Carnegie International (1991). His work is in the collections of institutions including the Tate Modern, London; the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago; The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York; andThe Museum of Modern Art, New York. The artist received the Order of Arts and Letters (2013) from the French government; the Premium Imperiale Painting Award (2009) from the Japan Arts Association; the Photo España (2006); and the Hasselblad Foundation International Award inPhotography (2001). 

 Hon Chi Fun

Hon Chi Fun is one of Hong Kong’s most respected visual artists who is best known for his abstract paintings. Hon started to paint abstract paintings in 1960 and organized his first solo show at Chatham Galleries. He co-founded the Circle Art Group in 1965and produced his first edition of serigraphic prints in 1966. He was amongst the first in Hong Kong to be awarded a John D. Rockefeller 3rdFund Fellowship by John D. Rockefeller 3rdFoundation –the predecessor organization of the Asian Cultural Council –in 1968. He was represented by Willard Gallery in New York. He traveled extensively from the late 60’s to the late 80’s and held a solo show at the Fung Ping Shan Museum (now known as the University Museum and Art Gallery of the University of Hong Kong) in 1988. The Documentary video ‘Hon’s Orbit’ introducing his work was produced by the Hong Kong Museum of Art in 1989. Hon moved to Canada in 1992 and returned to Hong Kong in 2000. In spite of an untimely stroke in 2000, another documentary video, ‘Hon’s Art of Serigraphy,’ was produced by the Heritage Museum. At the same time, the book on Hon’s art, “Space and Passion: The Art of Hon Chi Fun”, was published by Choi Yan Chi. Hon continued to paint and practice calligraphy whilst marching to the age of 90. In 2013, Hon received the Medal of Honor from the Hong Kong SAR Government in recognition of his outstanding artistic achievements.

Kimsooja

Kimsooja is an internationally acclaimed multimedia artist whose videos, installations, and performances poignantly address issues relating to culture, politics, history, and identity, especially with regard to the displaced self. The artist’s conceptual, aesthetic, and structural investigations of performance through immobility in her practice inverts the notion of the artist as the predominant auteur. Her work has been exhibited internationally and featured in numerous solo and group exhibitions, including at the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, Seoul (2016); Centre Pompidou-Metz (2015); Reina Sophia, Madrid (2006); MoMA PS1, New York (2001); 24th São Paulo Biennial (1998); the 48th, 49th, 51st and 52nd Venice Biennales. In 2013 she represented Korea at the 55th Venice Biennale.

Rashid Rana

Rashid Rana is known for his conceptual sculptures, videos, and photo composite collages that provocatively deconstruct social histories and cultural disjunctions to reflect the duality of our time. He has participated in major exhibitions including My East is Your West, a collateral event at the 56th Venice Biennale (2015); Mohatta Palace Museum, Karachi (2013); Cornerhouse, Manchester (2011); Asia Society Museum, New York (2009); and Musée Guimet, Paris (2010) among others. Rana was recently appointed the artistic director of the 2017 Lahore Biennale. He is also the founding faculty member and current Dean of the School of Visual Arts and Design at the Beacon house National University in Lahore.

2016 TALKS PROGRAMME

Art and the City: A Conversation between contemporary artists from Hong Kong

Wednesday 22 March 2:00pm  3:00pm

Moderator:DOMINIQUE CHAN [Head of Gallery & Exhibition at Asia Society Hong Kong Center]

Speakers: ADRIAN WONG [Artist], MAGDALENE WONG[Artist]and ANDIO LAI[Artist]

‘Breathing Space: Contemporary Art from Hong Kong’ is an exhibition at AsiaSociety Hong Kong Center that gazes upon and dissects the pressures of living in the fast paced city of Hong Kong. The exhibition presents local artists whose work engages with urban experience, current affairs, or shared and personal history. Featured artists from the exhibition join together at Art Central to discuss common themes in each of their work.

Cultural Leadership in the 21st Century

Thursday 23 March 2:00pm-3:00pm

Moderator:YIFAWN LEE [Founder of Asian Art Hong Kong and publisher of Orientations magazine]

Speakers:TIM REEVES [Deputy Director and Chief Operating Officer of the Victoria and Albert Museum, London], TINA COLAYCO [President, Metropolitan Museum of Manila, Philippines], MAUD PAGE [Deputy Director and Director of Collections, Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney]

At their core, museums and cultural institutions require a philosophy and a global pedagogy which they must mutually impart to their audiences both local and international. But what key factors come into play when building a buoyant collection, a strong aesthetic, and a unique standpoint? This exclusive programme will connect and compare distinguished cultural institutions through their strategies, goals and philosophy.

Scatter In Time

Friday 24 March 12:30pm –1:30pm

Moderator: BOON HUI TAN [Vice President for Global Arts and Cultural Programs, and Director, Asia Society Museum, New York]

Speakers: RASHID RANA [Artist, Artist Director of the Lahore Biennale]

Stillness and Light: In Conversation with Hiroshi Sugimoto

Friday 24 March 2:00pm –3:00pm

Moderator: ELAINE NG [Editor and Publisher of ArtAsiaPacific]
Speakers: HIROSHI SUGIMOTO[Artist]

In this up close and personal programme, celebrated Japaneseartist Hiroshi Sugimoto will give a presentation on his life, works, and his very own Odawara Art Foundation, which is dedicated to producing and promoting classical theater arts and avant-garde stage art through public exhibitions and researching art of all genres and periods.

The Dimensions of a Needle: A Conversation with KIMSOOJA

Friday 24 March 3:30pm –4:30pm

Moderator: KIM MACHAN [Founding director of MAAP-Media ArtAsia Pacific]

Speakers: KIMSOOJA [Artist]

Korean artist Kimsooja, who blurs the boundariesbetween aesthetics, transcendence and ephemeral experience through her use of non-action, meditative practices, and serial forms, masterfully toys with the science of light to bring her sculptures and installation to life. Through both these practices and indeed her performance and video works, this discussion will provide context for the scope and character of her lambent works.

A Journey from East to West: A Retrospective Conversation with Hon Chi Fun

Saturday 25 March 1:30pm –2:30pm

Moderator: PROFESSOR FRANK VIGNERON [Head of the Graduate Division of Fine Arts at The Chinese University of Hong Kong]

Speakers: HON CHI FUN[Artist]

With a career spanning half a century, this retrospective discussion will provide the rare opportunity to converse on the deepest details of one of Hong Kong’s most respected visual artists, Hon Chi Fun.The programme will examine the trajectory of Hon’s career from his earliest works during the 50s to his latest works during the turn of the millennium.

Performance Art Central: From Politics to the Poetics

Saturday 25 March 3:00pm –4:00pm

Moderator: MIKALA TAI [Director, 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art, Sydney]

Speakers: ANIDA YOEU ALI [Artist], ENOCH CHENG [Artist], TOBIAS GUMANN, [Artist], AMRITA HEPI[Artist], UJI HANDOKO EKO SAPUTRO AKA HAHAN [Artist]

The Director of 4A Centre for ContemporaryAsianArt and curator ofPERFORMANCE X 4A at Art Central will lead an interactive panel discussion with four of the programme’s participating contemporary artists, each working at the heart of experimental performance. The panel will explore performance art, its role within a commercial art fair and how international trends are shaping and feeding into their art making.

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT