2021年5月20至23日
香港會議展覽中心

行為藝術

Art Central 表演伙伴 4A 當代亞洲藝術中心為展會策劃精采的行為藝術節目,展出國際頂尖藝術家的作品,打破藝博會的固有節奏。

Caroline Garcia, The Vitrine of Dancing Cultures, Art Central 2018.
Anida Yoeu Ali, The Red Chador: Ban Me!, Art Central 2017.

關於4A當代亞洲藝術中心

4A當代亞洲藝術中心透過研究、紀錄、開發、討論和展示當代的視覺藝術,促進當代亞洲和澳洲文化的卓越藝術發展和創意。中心於1996年在悉尼成立,旨在以當代視覺藝術闡釋澳洲和亞太區之間的活躍關係。

4A採用獨特的手法突出澳洲的文化多元,推出各式各樣的豐富活動,包括本地和國際展覽、公眾節目、工作坊、研討會、學術討論會和社區活動。他們的努力得到本地和國際公認,有效加強公眾對亞洲和澳洲文化藝術的認識,同時提高澳洲在亞太區的文化地位。

2019 行為藝術 X 4A

多位出色現代藝術家透過連串的日常現場表演,利用時間長短的概念,詰問人類奮鬥的成果和徒勞,深入探討和思考時間的流逝和無休止奔波的疲憊狀態,與展會的繁忙熱鬧形成對比。

馮允珊

I am tired with you

香港出生的英籍華人藝術家馮允珊最為人熟悉的是邀請現場觀眾一同參與的表演式繪畫。在2019年的Art Central ,馮允珊將呈獻「I am tired with you」,一個植根於傳統印刷技術的作品。表演開始之時,藝術家先在碟上塗滿一層厚厚的顏料,再在表面放一張白紙。當白紙粘附著顏料,馮允珊會邀請觀眾擔當印刷機的角色,在紙上書寫、行走及暢談現當代的忙碌文化,並分享他們對於疲態及勞資關係的反思,同時思考「不工作」的的可能性。 每位參與的觀眾亦會在紙張表面留下印記,而他們對此議題的想法亦被創製成集體概念圖。

丘旼子

The Authentic Quality : HK

以前作為基礎,韓國藝術家丘旼子獲委託為「行為藝術x 4A」在展會內設立一個兼備餐廳、展覽及關係美學元素的藝術項目。丘旼子換上了烹飪資訊型廣告主持的身份,以兩分鐘即食麵作為工具,促使觀者以飲食文化及必須遵從的社會壓力為題進行對話交流。在這項表演藝術當中,丘旼子試圖以追求完美的態度,模仿扭曲的媒體及商業影像,但該項表演的長度遠超烹煮即食麵所需的兩分鐘。首度來港的丘旼子,將藉今次的烹飪平台嘗試理解她所並不熟悉的城市、材料、政治和程序,並渴望在場的支持者能夠協助她。

Brian Fuata (Australia)

Care Disfigurements (flowers)

來自澳洲悉尼的薩摩亞作家及行為藝術家Brian Fuata獲委託為展會呈獻其著名的「ghost」行為藝術項目, 作為一系列探討鬼魂形象作品的一部分。Fuata 既是演員,亦是藝術家,他巧妙地將冷面幽默、表演動作、床單及礦泉水巧妙結合在一起,貫穿情感性藝術性及娛樂性的各種領域。這件作品將穿插於整個展會,與各展位中的其他作品進行互動,為Fuata不斷演變的詩歌帶來視覺刺激。

Siu Lan Ko (Hong Kong/Canada)

New Territories Old Territories

香港出生的加拿大藝術家高小蘭擅長創作以文字為主的裝置藝術及持續行為表演藝術,探討有關空間、地域及民族性等議題。她獲委託為「行為藝術x 4A」創作一項嶄新的表演項目,亦是一座互動式雕塑作品。創作靈感源自廟宇內呈圓柱形的轉經輪,這件作品運用了三個巨大的輪軸,各輪軸上以文字描述香港的政治發展情況。當觀眾轉動輪軸時,輪軸上便會呈現一些句子,反映香港與中國之間不斷變化的關係,這些句子包括:「香港是香港」、「香港是中國」、「香港不是中國」及「中國是香港」。為了反思香港主權回歸中國後50年不變的承諾,高小蘭將邀請本港多位表演藝術工作者與她聚首一堂,以挑戰在時間、政治及表演等各方面的界限之創新形式,共同啟動此裝置藝術。歡迎到場人士親身轉動輪軸,細想香港的現在與將來。

2018 行為藝術 X 4A

在這個不凡的年代,貧富的差距日益懸殊,這種當代社會的不公,成為了2018年Art Central的表演主題。

黃宇軒和林志輝(香港)

Pavilion for our living

香港藝術家黃宇軒林志輝自2010年開始在藝術方面合作無間,兩人合創的作品得到自由之花獎頭獎、ifva 獨立短片及影像媒體比賽金牌及銀牌,並曾於香港藝術館及斯勞特基金會展出。

Caroline Garcia(澳洲)

The Vitrine of Dancing Cultures

Caroline Garcia是不拘一格的文化表演者,她的作品橫跨現場表演和錄像影片,糅合了各項美學特色,包括跨文化舞蹈、儀式表演、新媒體,以及文化和殖民影像的樣本。她擅用「他性」,作品透過變形的身體作為工具,聚焦於探討周邊的文化、異地體驗和奇異的女性這項恆久不衰的主題。Caroline曾於菲律賓馬尼拉雙年展:OPENCITY2018、澳洲悉尼新南威爾士美術館及澳洲墨爾本Channels: The Australian Video Art Festival中展出。

FJ Kunting(印尼)

Talk and Goal: Strong Relationship, but first, talk!

印尼日惹市藝術家 FJ Kunting,自 2012 年開始行為藝術表演,他熱衷於考察人際的關係和互動,其現場表演都悠長而費神。他被譽為是印尼最令人興奮期待的表演者,最近曾參與新加坡Performance Art Resource Orchestrator、印度加爾各答KIPAF#1、印尼日惹國家博物館及印尼雅加達行為藝術展覽。

羅欣慧(新加坡)

Progress: The Game of Leaders

新加坡當代藝術家羅欣慧,以綽號 SKL0 為人熟識,作品靈感主要來自社會政治氣候下的日常觀察和研究,並透過包含文字和影像的視覺形式發表意見。她把大眾熟悉的視覺符號結合自己的意念、訊息和情感,不但賦予都市現狀新的意義,還希望藉此激發觀看者以批判思想反思日常的生活。她最近參與了澳洲墨爾本狂歡節、新加坡藝通亞洲展覽和馬來西亞檳城喬治城節。

2017 行為藝術 X 4A

2017年Art Central請來首屈一指的國際藝術家,在特定的環境質疑及挑戰傳統的藝術規範,推動觀眾重新審視習以為常的東西和環境,反省自己的期望,並邀請他們一起思索獨特的演出。

Tobias Gutmann

Face-o-Mat 瑞士藝術家Tobias Gutmann的作品以創作和探索人、文化和環境之間的不期而遇為核心,同時探討所看到事物的外表與內心真實感受的矛盾。他旨在設定出現這種對話的情境,作品在表演、裝置和工作坊之間不斷變化,而且帶出彼此的關聯和參與性質。他的「模擬肖像機器」作品《Face-o-mat》自2012年縱遊世界,並於2017年Art Central展出,是對科技世界令世人沉迷組合和繪畫理想身份的含蓄批判。《Face-o-mat》曾現身瑞士蘇黎世Haus Konstrktiv博物館、澳洲墨爾本Supergraph當代平面藝術博覽會和盧森堡現代美術館。

Amrita Hepi

This___may not protect you but at time It’s enough to know it exists 

澳洲藝術家 Amrita Hepi 是 Bundjalung 及 Ngāpuhi 的舞者和編舞家,專注表演實驗舞蹈。她的舞蹈著重在過渡空間舞動,把她重要的文化傳統結合當代舞蹈訓練,並流露交集、文化回憶和流行文化的分野。Amrita就讀於澳洲新威爾士的原住民島民技藝發展協會舞蹈學院,以及紐約Alvin Ailey美國舞蹈學校,曾於悉尼歌劇院、墨爾本新浪潮節、澳洲當代藝術博物館、墨爾本澳洲當代藝術中心、悉尼馬車創意空間、悉尼TEDX和加拿大亞伯達省班夫藝術創作中心展覽和表演。

Anida Yoeu Ali

The Red Chador: Ban Me! 

Anida Yoeu Ali身兼藝術家、教育家和國際策劃者,遊走於表演、裝置、錄像、影像、公眾偶遇和政治煽動等多元形式。她生於柬埔寨,在芝加哥長大,是第一代在美國長大的穆斯林高棉人。她利用跨形式創作,其裝置品和表演探討跨國身份者在藝術、精神和政治上的衝擊。Ali的裝置作品和表演廣獲邀展出,包括史密森尼博物館美國亞太裔中心、第五屆福岡亞洲藝術三年展、里昂現代藝術博物館、東京宮和第八屆亞太當代藝術三年展。2014年,她贏得香港Sovereign Art Prize頭獎。她分別於伊利諾大學(香檳分校)取得美術學士學位及芝加哥藝術學院美術碩士。她目前是華盛頓大學波塞爾分校的駐校藝術家,教授藝術、表演和全球研究課程。她居於華盛頓塔科馬,花費不少時間穿梭於亞太區和華盛頓之間工作。

Uji Handoko Eko Saputro aka Hahan

Speculative Entertainment No.1 Hong Kong Edition

Hahan的藝術創作打破「高級藝術」和「低級藝術」的界線,模糊了現實情況。他結合了電影、音樂和街頭文化,賦予其獨特的視覺語言,以帶諷刺的幽默感和自發的行為,創出被形容為雜亂無章的現實。近年,Hahan嘗試展現新的藝術模式,講求與訪客互動,並連繫到全球及本土社會的藝術發展。他是日惹年輕藝術家組織和創作空間Ace House Collective的其中一名創辦人,力求透過跨界別的工作過程、合作和研究,演繹印尼當代社會的文化。多間藝術博物館也有收藏他的作品,包括澳洲布里斯本昆士蘭現代藝術博物館和澳洲墨爾本維多利亞國立美術館。

鄭得恩

Fair Gestures

鄭得恩身兼多重角色和身份,包括藝術家、導演、表演者、作家、獨立策展人和藝術組合Interlocuto的創辦人,以流動影像、裝置品、策展、舞蹈、音樂活動、劇場和表演作為創作媒介。他的作品關注當代城市生活的細節,探討地方、旅遊、虛構、記憶、時間和目的地等命題。他於倫敦大學金匠學院獲頒創意書寫碩士,以及取得香港大學英國文學及藝術史學士學位。他的最新香港表演包括在油街實現放映的《我與你同在》電影,以及香港藝術博物館的「往迴之旅」跨媒界藝術派對。

Art Central

24 - 28 March 2021
Central Harborfront
Hong Kong

PERFORMANCE

Art Central's Performance Programme is held in Partnership with 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art, interrupting the hum of the art fair with performances by internationally acclaimed artists.

Caroline Garcia, The Vitrine of Dancing Cultures, Art Central 2018.
Anida Yoeu Ali, The Red Chador: Ban Me!, Art Central 2017.

About 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art

4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art fosters excellence and innovation in contemporary Asian and Australian culture through research, documentation, development, discussion and presentation of contemporary visual art. Operating since 1996 from a base in Sydney, Australia, 4A’s aim is to ensure contemporary visual art plays a central role in understanding the dynamic relationship between Australia and the Asia-Pacific region.

4A has a distinctive approach to addressing Australia’s cultural diversity through a dynamic program including local and international exhibitions, public programs, workshops, seminars, symposiums and community activities. These have been recognised locally and internationally as having raised awareness of Asian-Australian art and culture and Australia’s place in the Asia-Pacific region.

  • PERFORMANCE 2019

    Ideas of time and duration, questioning the futility and fruits of human endeavour were addressed by leading contemporary artists through a series of daily on-site performances with challenging examination of the exhaustive state of perpetual busy-ness and the act of counting down.

    Bettina Fung (Hong Kong/United Kingdom)

    I am tired with you

    Best known for her performative drawing practice that invites collaboration from the audience, Hong Kong born British-Chinese artist Bettina Fung will present I am tired with you – a piece that is fundamentally anchored in the traditions of print-making. The artist opens the performance with a plate filled with heavy-duty pigment before layering a piece of paper on top. As the paper adheres to the paint, members of the audience are invited to play the role of the printing press by writing, walking and conversing about a contemporary culture of busyness, sharing their reflections on fatigue and labour relations, while simultaneously contemplating possibilities of “non-doing”. Each of these audience interventions forms a palimpsest of mark making on the painted surface, creating a collective mind map of the audiences’ thoughts on the subject. 

    Minja Gu (South Korea)

    The Authentic Quality : HK

    Expanding on a previous project, Korean artist Minja Gu has been commissioned to set up a restaurant-cum-exhibition-cum-relational aesthetics project in an art fair setting, where she adopts the persona of a cooking infomercial personality, using the ubiquitous two-minute noodle packet as a tool to prompt conversational exchange about food culture and societal pressure to conform. Through the performance, the artist seeks to mimic contorted media and commercial imagery in a pursuit of perfection – an act that takes much longer than the prescribed two minutes. Having never travelled to Hong Kong, Gu will use this cooking platform to understand the unfamiliar ingredients, politics and processes of the city – something which she hopes fellow sympathisers at the fair will help her navigate.

    Brian Fuata (Australia)

    Care Disfigurements (flowers)

    Sydney-based Samoan, writer and performer Brian Fuata has been commissioned to present his signature ‘ghost’ performance – a living series that considers the images of ghosts through a durational performance.  Both an actor and artist, Fuata infuses dead pan humour with performance routines, combining bed sheets and mineral water in a clever cocktail that travels through the entire emotional, artistic and entertainment spectrum. This performance will traverse the fair, engaging with works from booth to booth, providing visual stimuli for his evolving poetry.

    Siu Lan Ko (Hong Kong/Canada)

    New Territories Old Territories

    Canadian-based Hong Kong artist Siu Lan Ko creates text-based installations and durational performances that examine ideas of space, geography and nationhood. Drawing inspiration from cylindrical prayer wheels found in temples, the work, both a performance piece and an interactive sculpture, takes the format of three large spindles, each printed with words that describe the political trajectory of Hong Kong. As audiences interact with them, they form evolving sentences that reflect the continuously developing relationship between Hong Kong and China; “Hong Kong is Hong Kong”, “Hong Kong is China”, “Hong Kong isn’t China”, “China is Hong Kong”.  Reflecting on Hong Kong’s 50-year period of transition, Siu Lan Ko invites Hong Kong performance artists to activate the installation with her in innovative ways that test the boundaries of duration, politics and performance. Visitors will also be invited to turn the spindles and consider their ideas of Hong Kong, now and into the future.

  • PERFORMANCE 2018

    In an era of extraordinary times, we are faced with the growing disparity between the haves and the have-nots. This disparity informed the thematic curated performances at Art Central 2018.

    Sampson Wong & Lam Chi Fai (Hong Kong)

    Pavilion for our living

    Sampson Wong and Lam Chi Fai are Hong Kong based artists who have collaborated in art-making since 2010. Their collaborative works received the First Prize in Freedom Flower Awards, the Gold Award and Silver Award of ifva and were exhibited in the Hong Kong Museum of Art andthe Slought Foundation. 

    Caroline Garcia (Australia)

    The Vitrine of Dancing Cultures

    Caroline Garcia is a culturally promiscuous, performance maker. She works across live performance and video through a hybridised aesthetic of cross-cultural dance, ritual practice, new media, and the sampling of popular culture and colonial imagery. Caroline’s practice is shaped by alterity. In her work, she centres peripheral bodies by adopting the role of shape shifter – sliding into the gaps between cultures, experiences of otherness, and timeless clichés of exotic femininity. Caroline has presented at Manila Biennale:OPENCITY2018 (Manila, Philippines), The Art Gallery of New South Wales (Sydney, Australia), Channels: The Australian Video Art Festival (Melbourne, Australia).

    FJ Kunting (Indonesia)

    Talk and Goal: Strong Relationship, but first, talk!

    FJ Kunting is a Yogyakarta, Indonesian based artist who has been developing a performance practice since 2012. Fundamentally interested in an examination of human relations and engagement his live performances are durational and hypnotic. Widely regarded as one of Indonesia’s most exciting performers his work as recently been presented at Performance Art Resource Orchestrator (Singapore), KIPAF#17 (Calcutta, India), Jogja National Museum (Yogyakarta, Indonesia), Performance Art Jakarta (Jakarta, Indonesia).

    Sam Lo (Singapore)

    Progress: The Game of Leaders

    Sam Lo, also known by the moniker SKL0, is a Singaporean contemporary artist whose work is heavily inspired by daily observations and research on the sociopolitical climate from which she executes through visual commentary comprising of text and imagery. The end results birth new meanings lent to existing situations by incorporating ideas, messages and emotions with familiar visual codes into urban situations in hopes of creating experiences to invoke critical thought on the viewer’s everyday life. Recent exhibitions include Melbourne Festival (Melbourne, Australia) One East Asia Gallery (Singapore), Georgetown Festival (Penang, Malaysia).

     

  • PEFORMANCE 2017

    Art Central 2017 presented present site-specific works by leading international artists, all working to question and challenge the conventional canon of art, encouraging the audience to reconsider familiar objects and situations, challenging the viewer to rethink their expectations and inviting them to speculate on a spectacle.

    Tobias Gutmann

    Face-o-Mat

    At the heart of Tobias Gutmann’s artistic practice lies the creation and investigation of encounters –between people, cultures, and environments, but also between what we perceive on the outside and what we feel on the inside. The Swiss artist aims to setup situations where such a dialogue can happen. His works morph between performance, installation, and workshops, and often have relational and participatory aspects to them. His Face-O-Mat, analogue portrait machine, has been traveling the world since 2012and will feature at Art Central 2017. It can be viewed as a quiet critique of how technology has made us obsessed with assembling and portraying an identity that puts us in the best light. Previous Face-O-Mat projects include: Museum Haus Konstrktiv, Zurich, Switzerland, Supergraph, Melbourne, Australia and Mudam, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg.

    Amrita Hepi

    This___may not protect you but at time It’s enough to know it exists

    Amrita Hepi is a Bundjulung and Ngapuhi dancer and choreographer working in the field of experimental dance. Her choreography is rooted in creating movement in transitional spaces, interweaving her urgent cultural heritage and contemporary dance training. The barriers of intersectionality, cultural memory and pop cultural references also feature in her work. Amrita has trained at the National Aboriginal Islander Skills Development Association (NAISDA) dance college, New South Wales, Australia and Alvin Ailey American Dance School, New York.She has exhibited and performed at Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Next Wave Festival, Melbourne, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Australia, the Australian Centre for Contemporary art, Melbourne, Carriage works, Sydney, TEDX, Sydney and Banff Centre, Alberta, Canada.

    Anida Yoeu Ali

    The Red Chador: Ban Me!

    Anida Yoeu Ali is an artist, educator and global agitator. Ali’s multi-disciplinary practices include performance, installation, videos, images, public encounters, and political agitation. She is a first generation Muslim Khmer woman born in Cambodia and raised in Chicago. Utilizing an interdisciplinary approach to art-making, her installation and performance works investigate the artistic, spiritual and political collisions of a hybrid transnational identity. Ali’s works have been exhibited widely in including installations and performances at the Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center, 5th Fukuoka Asian Art Triennial, Lyon Museum of Contemporary Art, Palais de Tokyo, and the Asia Pacific Triennial 8.In 2014, Ali won the top prize of the Sovereign Art Prize, Hong Kong. Ali earned her B.F.A. from University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign) and an M.F.A. in from School of the Art Institute Chicago. She is currently the Artist-in-Residence at the University of Washington Bothell where she teaches art, performance and global studies courses. Ali resides in Tacoma, Washington and spends much of her time traveling and working between the Asia-Pacific region and the US

    Uji Handoko Eko Saputro aka Hahan

    Speculative Entertainment No.1 Hong Kong Edition

    Hahan’s art making is concerned with the tussle between ‘high art’ and ‘low art’, blurring realism with decoration. Hahan incorporates film, music and street culture into a distinct visual language, creating a sense of movement and spontaneity in what can be described as a topsy-turvy reality steeped in satirical humor. In recent years, he attempts to display an art with the concept that emphasizes on the interaction with the visitors and relate it with the development of art in global as well as its society. He also one of the founders of Ace House Collective, a young artists’ collective and initiative space based in Yogyakarta which trying to capture the culture of Indonesian contemporary society through multidiscipline work process, collaboration, and research.His works have been collected by several art museum including Queensland Art Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA) Brisbane, Australia and National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) Melbourne, Australia

    Enoch Cheng

    Fair Gestures

    Enoch Cheng is an artist, director, performer, writer, independent curator, and founder of art collective Interlocutor.His practice involves the moving image, installation, curating, dance, music events, theatre and performance. Concerned with the everyday subtleties in contemporary urban lives, his works explore recurrent themes of place, travel, fiction, memory, time and destination.He received his MA in Creative Writing from Goldsmiths, London and BA in English Literature and Art History at the University of Hong Kong. His most recent shows in Hong Kong include You Are Not Alone at Oi!Oil Street Art Space and The Memory of Proximityat Hong Kong Museum of Art.

@ARTCENTRALHK

#ARTCENTRALHK

SIGN UP FOR ART CENTRAL’S NEWSLETTER

ART CENTRAL MAILING LIST
ART CENTRAL 郵寄名單

Subscribe to the Art Central mailing list and stay up to date on the latest news about the fair

請加入我們的郵寄名單,以便收取有關展覽的最新消息。



This website uses cookies. You can manage or block these using your browser settings