2025年3月
中環海濱香港

與2019年亞洲藝術創變者大獎得主對談

伊姆蘭.庫雷西

伊姆蘭.庫雷西(Imran Qureshi)以他波斯細密畫風格的繪畫、裝置及錄像等場域特定的作品探討當代政治與社會議題聞名。他高雅的細密畫往往將著時裝的人物置於裝飾性強烈的背景中,藉此反映巴基斯坦的現代生活;而他大型作品中繁複的赤葉紅花圖案,則意圖讓觀者省思宗教意識型態與戰爭間時而曖昧、時而血腥的關係。庫雷西已在世界各地舉辦過展覽,包括倫敦巴比肯藝術中心曲線畫廊(2016、第55屆威尼斯雙年展(2013、紐約大都會藝術博物館(2013)、第10屆沙迦雙年展(2011、紐約亞洲協會美術館(2009等。

納提.尤塔瑞

泰國藝術家納提.尤塔瑞(Natee Utarit)最為人熟知的便是他照相寫實主義的繪畫,及作品中對於後殖民時代的泰國社會政治情勢隱晦的評論。他受新古典主義繪畫影響的構圖中,經常出現聖經與佛教符號,和《伊索寓言》、佐治.奧威爾《動物農莊》式的擬人化動物,並以此點出當今社會中讓人不安的真相。尤塔瑞的作品在馬尼拉阿雅拉博物館(2017、東京都現代美術館(2015、赫爾辛基當代美術館(2001、布里斯本昆士蘭美術館第三屆亞太當代藝術三年展(1999等皆展出過。

克里斯汀.艾珠

印尼藝術家克里斯汀.艾珠(Christine Ay Tjoe)以繪畫、草圖、雕塑及裝置為主要創作媒材,她情感豐沛的抽象作品,傳達藝術家個人對於性靈與人性的體會,充滿哲學思維。金澤21世紀美術館甫於2018年舉行了艾珠的大型回顧展,而艾珠在國際藝壇上亦是頭角崢嶸,作品曾展於倫敦皇家藝術學院(2017、台中國立美術館(2012、雅加達印尼國家畫廊(2009、紐約州綺色佳康乃爾大學強生美術館(2005

方力鈞​

方力鈞1990年代在中國崛起的玩世現實主義藝術家的重要代表之一,這群藝術家試圖在作品中捕捉中國年輕世代對1980年代的樂觀產生的幻滅,其中方力鈞筆下打著哈欠的光頭人物象徵此時期社會上瀰漫的倦怠、冷漠與無所適從的疏離感。方力鈞曾參與伯恩美術館(2016、舊金山亞洲藝術博物館(2011、臺北市立美術館(2009、紐約亞洲協會美術館(1998等東西方重要美術館展覽,並應第48屆威尼斯雙年展(1999、第22屆聖保羅雙年展(1994等重要國際藝術盛會邀請展出。 

2025年3月
中環海濱香港

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT
HONG KONG

2019 Asia Arts Game Changer Awards Honourees

Imran Qureshi​

Imran Qureshi is renowned for his site-specific paintings, installations, and videos created in the style of Indo-Persian miniature painting as a means to explore contemporary socio-political themes. His elegant miniatures often juxtapose figures in modern dress against ornate landscapes that reflect contemporary life in Pakistan while his large-scale works feature red leaves and floral patterns that are meant to provoke thoughtful reflection on the sometimes tenuous and often bloody relationship between religious ideologies and warfare. Qureshi has exhibited internationally, including at The Curve, Barbican Centre, London (2016); the 55th Venice Biennale (2013); The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York (2013); the 10th Sharjah Biennial (2011); and Asia Society Museum, New York (2009).

Moderated by Michelle Yun (Senior Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, Asia Society Museum, New York)

Natee Utarit

Natee Utarit is a Thai artist best known for his photorealist paintings that subtly critique the socio-political dynamics of post-colonial Thailand. His neoclassical compositions often feature biblical and Buddhist symbols and anthropomorphize animals in the manner of Aesop’s Fables and George Orwell’s Animal Farm as a means to illuminate uncomfortable truths about contemporary society. Utarit’s work has been the subject of international solo and group exhibitions including at the Ayala Museum, Manila (2017); Museum of Contemporary Art, Tokyo (2015); Museum of Contemporary Art (now Kiasma), Helsinki (2001); and the Third Asia-Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art, Queensland Art Gallery, Brisbane (1999).

Moderated by Boon Hui Tan (Vice President of Global Arts & Cultural Programs, and Director of Asia Society Museum, New York)

Christine Ay Tjoe

Christine Ay Tjoe is an Indonesian artist whose multimedia practice includes painting, drawing, sculpture, and installation. Her psychologically-charged abstractions address philosophical themes relating to spirituality and the human condition filtered through the artist’s personal experiences. Ay Tjoe recently had a major midcareer retrospective at the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary, Kanazawa (2018) and has been featured in many international exhibitions, including at the Royal Academy of Arts, London (2017); National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, Taichung (2012); National Gallery of Indonesia, Jakarta (2009); and Johnson Museum of Art, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY (2005).

Moderated by Noorani Sukardi (Former Deputy Director, Yuz Foundation and Yuz Museum, Shanghai)

Fang Lijun

Fang Lijun is one of the leading figures of the Cynical Realism movement that emerged in China in the 1990s. This group sought to capture the disillusionment of China’s youth following the optimism of the 1980s. Fang’s bald figures, captured in mid-yawn, portray the alienating feelings of apathy and helplessness that permeated contemporary society during this period. Fang has exhibited internationally, including at the Kunst Museum Bern (2016); Asian Art Museum of San Francisco (2011); Taipei Fine Arts Museum (2009); the 48th Venice Biennale (1999); Asia Society Museum, New York (1998); and the 22nd São Paulo Art Biennial (1994).

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT