2025年3月
中環海濱香港

NEO

Neo: 前綴. 嶄新的,近代的,修訂後的,或被復興的

Neo由Art Central策劃,為首年參展的畫廊提供機會,讓他們能夠在一個小而顯眼的空間中展示尖端或未被發掘的藝術家。Art Central 2024 策展顧問鄭得恩挑選了11間畫廊及15位藝術家參與此嶄新頂目。Neo致力於這個作為亞洲最大的當代藝術市場的博覽會平台,領頭培育藝術家及畫廊。

Neo展區注重策展,藝術家們通過對材料、流派和主題的實驗性探索展示出卓越的創作,包括通過3D程序探索新的雕塑方法;、用沙子或紋身針作畫;創造創新的再生面料;將視頻遊戲美學融合至與宗教物品;將攝影作品照片轉化為雕塑;用羊毛氈制作裝置藝術。這些在生涯前期及中期的初、中期藝術家邀請觀眾進一步探索這些藝術作品美麗外表以下隱含的內涵,以此喚起我們對於一系列重要議題的思考,包括現代女性的角色、消費主義、環境可持續性、傳統價值觀、宗教、過往以及對社會混亂的不安情感。

貝恩福邁藝術中心

成立於2021年
蘇州

英國越南裔表演藝術家KIMVI、和中國藝術家林文在現代社會的廢墟中找到了藝術的立錐之地。在《短暫的後人工品》的影片中,KIMVI用熱縮膠膜,把從某個被拆除的蘇州村莊收集到的瓷磚包裹起來。熱縮膠膜印有她於同一條村莊,用綠色網罩住自己的表演圖像。「後人工品」亦於她的攝影系列可見一斑:她將感光紙展露於公共空間表演的殘餘物上,以製作「後人工品」。此外,林文通過繪畫和混合媒體展現處理恐懼和焦慮的旅程。他的視覺語言聚焦至一位主角,反映社會快速加速的現象。不論可見還是暗示,他都在尋找意義或逃避——有時逃離廢墟,有時逃離人群。

KIMVI, AFTER PARTY II, 2019 (left) and PARTY TRICK II, 2019 (right), photogram, each 20.3 x 25.4 cm
Courtesy of the artist and BFM Art Center, Suzhou

biscuit gallery

成立於2021年
東京

兩位 90 年代出生的日本藝術家透過繪畫、素描、雕塑和影像,表達了她們對現代社會的不安。儘管他們的作品乍看很幽默,背後卻隱藏著令人不安的潛台詞。 山田美悠用沙子繪製她標誌性的羽毛人物形象,就像漂浮在夢幻風景中的雲彩。雲朵的質感和未經雕琢的風格暗示對自己身份的不確定感。Fukumi Nakazawa的動畫探討科技發展所造成的非人化危機。 受舞蹈、解剖學、工具和人體工學的研究啟發,Fukumi Nakazawa以定格動畫的方式將筆墨畫分層,描繪筆下的人類轉化為人工、超凡脫俗的產物。被記錄在成堆日本紙上的每次變形,最後被貼在一起,形成一個長方形物體、一個永遠密封的雕塑。

Miyu Yamada, Drive In, 2023, Acrylic and mixed media on canvas, 116.7×91cm
Photographed by Mei Hattori. Courtesy of the artist and biscuit gallery, Tokyo

庫比森畫廊

成立於2020年
上海

《南風微風》是一個雄心勃勃的項目,結合由化名 Lilyjon 的藝術家創作的錄像詩歌、劇本創作和繪畫。藝術家耗時八個月,使用大約在2010年發行的諾基亞 2690 手機,於城市中漫步時拍攝 8000 張低解析度圖片和音訊檔案,從中挑選出127張影像並結合音檔,製成一部電影,講述Lilyjon另類人格——詩人離離眾與女孩陸小梅偶遇的故事。藝術家也畫了 22 幅關於細微事物的小畫,如頭髮、指甲、嘴唇皺紋,一切都像夢境的碎片。 這個藝術計畫展現了通過創造痕跡來建構世界的艱苦而詩意的旅程。

Lilyjon, Southerly Breeze Chapter I-07: ‘When the southerly breeze comes…’, 2019, oil on canvas, 24 x 30 cm
Courtesy of the artist and Cub_ism_Artspace, Shanghai

EYECANDIES 眼糖

成立於2019年
上海

Eyecandies呈獻三位女性藝術家,在作品中探討女性在社會中的角色、關係和客體化。 在梁彦琦的作品中,一種隱喻的親密關係被縫在印有手和佛手柑水果圖案的織物上,透過連接手的線描繪人類之間相互依存關係的複雜性。王瑋珏創作引人注目的針氈羊毛藝術,以此凸顯社會規範對女性的壓抑。她的作品主題包括成人電影中的女性、家居物品和內衣。 居住在英國的瑞典藝術家 Frida Wannerberger 肖像畫中的大型女性穿著巨大的泡泡袖連身裙,將女性的歷史表現與現代服裝作為盔甲融為一體。 這些娃娃般的女性形象配上標題如「你在很多方面都讓我失望」,帶有強烈諷刺意味。

Yanqi Liang, Bergamot 02, 2023, prints and cotton threads on canvas, 50 x 50 cm
Courtesy of the artist and Eyecandies, Shanghai

ThisWeekendRoom

成立於2015年
首爾

韓國藝術家 Hansaem Kim 創作了迷人的當代奇幻雕塑作品。 藝術家以義大利經典的但丁《神曲》中,主角踏上穿越煉獄各個場景的旅程為靈感,呈現全新的藝術作品系列。該裝置以黃金、石頭、珠寶和玻璃製成的宗教和魔法符號,以及超凡脫俗的雕塑,營造紀念性的氛圍。 藝術家透過將類似電子遊戲的電腦生成圖像,和獨特宗教形狀和天體色彩的物體交融,令古典變得媚俗。Hansaem Kim以想像的美學將一個古老的故事重述為神話,檢驗了它的意義在當今世界的有效性。

Hansaem Kim, The New Matter, 2023, acrylic paint, gold leaf, pigment print and resin, 55 x 42 x 4 cm Courtesy of the artist and ThisWeekendRoom, Seoul

Gallery Palzo

成立於2010年
清道和大邱

韓國藝術家Byeonghyeon Jeong鄭秉賢的作品採用研磨的繪畫方式創作。,首先在多張韓紙(韓國傳統桑皮紙)上塗上顏料,待乾燥後重複這個過程,直到紙張完全被豐富的色調浸透。然後,他會使用紋身針在紙上細緻地雕刻線條和點,再從珍貴的韓紙層上撕下表面顏色,露出紙張的體積及其底層顏色。這一道道極度艱鉅的工序製成令人著迷的幾何構圖,吸引觀眾回應作品間關於平靜與緊張的對比。

Byeonghyeon Jeong, Ambiguous Inclination 23038, 2023, pigment on Hanji on board, 30 x 30 cm
Photographed by Samju Choi. Courtesy of the artist and Gallery Palzo, Cheongdo and Daegu.

Project K

成立於2021年
首爾

韓國藝術家 Eojin Lee 的作品《你和我們的圖騰》向為社會做出重大貢獻卻被邊緣化的勞動者致敬。 童年時,她目睹祖母使用薩滿教,為社區鄰居服務。 她從這段記憶中汲取靈感,利用自己的藝術探索其治癒靈魂的力量。 在一個新系列中,她回應了 2022 年發生的一起悲慘事件,當時韓國一家麵包店工廠的工人在操作機器時出現傷亡事故。事故中明顯缺失安全管理和勞工權利,驅使藝術家審視工作場所,尤其是工廠工人的尊嚴地位。這些思考促使藝術家用精緻的陶瓷和發現的物品創作薩滿雕塑,以此象徵著每個勞動者的精神存在,並與用於運送批量生產的商品的傳送帶並置。藝術家亦透過將薩滿薩爾普里舞蹈與人體塑像結合來創作數位繪畫,藉此隱喻低薪工人被迫讓渡的靈活性。

Eojin Lee, Are you Okay? Vol.2 (detail), 2023, mirror, thread, found objects and metal, 80 x 100 x 40 cm
Courtesy of the artist and Project K, Seoul

PBG

成立於2021年
首爾

在這個個人展覽中,韓國藝術家Surin Kim展出雕塑和畫作,探索傳統製作和數碼科技之間的邊界。Kim透過3D軟件,發掘以一種新穎方式建立形體的可能性。藝術家在虛擬的幾何空間內,運用計算公式連接線條和表面數據,創造不明物體的雕塑。藝術家混合一個女性骨架結構與光怪陸離的生物特徵,塑造一種怪異的愉悅感。Kim亦透過加入表情符號元素,重新演譯韓國傳統青瓷器,並思考現代繁榮的觀念。藝術家在一個新系列裏,將寶塔和其信徒的形象放入同一個雕塑,引發我們思考人類信仰能否帶領人類走向遙遠的未來。

Surin Kim, Ancient Times, 2023, UV print on canvas, 91 x 72.2 cm
Courtesy of the artist and PBG, Seoul

wamono art

成立於2016年
香港及東京

日本藝術家山上渡的畫作和雕塑呈現了一個物體一直漂浮在半空中的世界。藝術家用在海邊散步時收集的垃圾繪製黏液、礦物質、樹枝和樹幹等圖案。藝術家的深深焦慮源於對世界上一切都是虛構的根深蒂固的懷疑,散步、收藏、觀察和繪畫成為他緩解焦慮的方式,當中創作藝術品是他應對焦慮的一種方式,就像他進入超現實主義繪畫中的潛意識領域一樣。 因此,山上奇幻的「世界世界」系列中的漂流似乎是對「萬變始終不變」的終極承諾。

Wataru Yamakami, World of the World – Bridge, 2020, oil on canvas, 130 × 194 × 3cm
Courtesy of the artist and wamono art, Hong Kong and Tokyo

Warin Lab Contemporary

成立於2021年
曼谷

泰國藝術家 Jarupatcha Achavasmit 在煉金術雕塑作品中加入環境保護以及她在紡織和設計方面的背景元素。Jarupatcha Achavasmit 小時候跟隨她身為皇宮的裁縫和縫紉老師的祖母,學習編織、縫紉和針線活。透過藝術家對 Sakarin Krue-On 展覽後留下的巨大攝影畫布的重新加工,可見其作為藝術家對紡織品創新的興趣。Jarupatcha Achavasmit 首先將材料拆解成小條,再用回收紗線和由PET 塑膠瓶、銅、黃銅和不銹鋼製成的織物,將它們編織和交織。最終將Krue-On原始照片中的風景場景轉變為抽象場景。藝術家在攝影畫布的不同部位塗抹銅粉,產生金屬光澤,懸掛時創造出光芒四射的雕塑作品。她還使用其他回收材料,例如在海灘上發現的廢棄袋子,與照片畫布編織在一起,製作了新的掛毯。Jarupatcha Achavasmit 對材料的新穎運用,突破織物藝術在與環境保護交叉點上的界限,挑戰觀眾透過永續性的視角反思藝術。

Jarupatcha Achavasmit, Colony, 2023, photographic canvas, recycled PET yarn, copper fabric, copper strips, copper powder, dimensions variable
Courtesy of the artist and Warin Lab Contemporary, Bangkok

V&E Art

成立於2018年
台北和巴黎

「這個模糊的慾望對象」是法國藝術家托馬斯·德沃的一個項目,包括「購物者」、「人造絲」和「圖騰」系列。藝術家在這個項目中拍攝超市貨架和購物者的照片,並應用演算法將它們渲染、模糊成發光的顏色。成片其後被精心地裝框和定位,猶如一個祭壇,轉變成催眠和深沉內斂的美麗圖標。這些抽象的圖像,在它們的反光玻璃框架中邀請觀眾思考藝術家的主張:「我們是否生活在過度包裝的社會幻想中,卻忽視了日常生活的本質?」透過輻射玻璃,這件作品反映消費狂歡的夢想,在某一刻既世俗又神聖。

Thomas Devaux, “Shopper 8.8” (closeup), 2023, Pigmentprint, Dichroic glass, frame in alluminum with 22k gold leaf, 40x30cm
Courtesy of the artist and V&E ART, Taipei

2025年3月
中環海濱香港

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT
HONG KONG

NEO

Neo prefix. new, recent, modified or revived

 

Neo at Art Central creates an entry point for galleries in their first year of participation to feature cutting-edge or undiscovered artists in a small but highly visible space. Ten galleries and fourteen artists have been selected by Art Central 2024’s curatorial advisor, Enoch Cheng, to take part in the sector’s debut. Neo represents a commitment to the Fair’s platform as a leading incubator for artists and galleries in Asia’s largest market for contemporary art.

 

Featuring booths of strong curatorial engagement, Neo’s artists demonstrate experimental approaches to materials, genres and subject matter. From exploring new ways of sculpting through 3-D programs to painting with sand or tattoo needles, from inventing innovative recycled fabrics to merging video game aesthetics with religious objects, and from turning photographs into sculptures to making installations with felting wool, these early- and mid-career artists invite viewers to look deeper into and beyond the beautiful surfaces of art. In so doing, they inspire us to contemplate critical topics, including the modern roles of women, consumerism, environmental sustainability, the value of tradition, religion, the past, and unsettling emotions toward chaos in society.

BFM Art Center

Established in 2021
Suzhou

British-Vietnamese performance artist KIMVI and Chinese artist Lin Wen find artistic positions through a modern world of debris. In the video “Ephemeral Post-Artefact”, KIMVI encases tiles collected from a demolished village in Suzhou with shrink wrapping printed with the image of her performance at the same site, in which she has covered herself with the green net. ‘Post-artefacts’ are also present in her photo series, produced by exposing light-sensitive paper to remnants of performances in public spaces. On the other hand, Lin Wen expresses the journey of managing fear and anxiety through paintings and mixed media. Reflecting on society’s rapid acceleration, Lin’s visual language centres on a protagonist, either seen or implied, as he seeks meaning or escape – sometimes from a ruin, other times from crowds.

KIMVI, AFTER PARTY II, 2019 (left) and PARTY TRICK II, 2019 (right), photogram, each 20.3 x 25.4 cm
Courtesy of the artist and BFM Art Center, Suzhou

 

biscuit gallery

Established in 2021
Tokyo

Two Japanese artists born in the 1990s convey their unease about modern society through paintings, drawings, sculptures, and videos. Although their works initially appear humorous, there are unsettling subtexts beneath them. Miyu Yamada’s signature feathery figures resembling clouds floating in dream-like landscapes are here painted using sand. The texture and unrefined style of the clouds suggest a sense of uncertainty about one’s identity. Fukumi Nakazawa’s animation explores the crisis of dehumanisation caused by technological development. Informed by her research of dance, anatomy, tools, and ergonomics, the artist’s brush and ink drawings are layered in a stop-motion manner to depict human figures transforming into artificial and otherworldly beings. Each metamorphosis, documented on stacks of illustrated Japanese paper, is eventually pasted together to form a rectangular object, a sculpture forever sealed.

Miyu Yamada, _Drive In_, 2023, Acrylic and mixed media on canvas, 116.7×91cm
Photographed by Mei Hattori. Courtesy of the artist and biscuit gallery, Tokyo

Cub_ism_ Artspace

Established in 2020
Shanghai

“Southerly Breeze” is an ambitious project that combines video poems, scriptwriting, and paintings created by the artist who goes by the pseudonym Lilyjon. For eight months, the artist captured eight thousand low-resolution pictures and audio files using his circa-2010 Nokia 2690 mobile phone while wandering around the city. From these, 127 images were selected and combined with the audio files to create a film about a chance encounter between a poet named 离离众, the alternative personality of Lilyjon, and a girl named Lu Xiaomei. The artist also painted 22 small paintings of delicate subjects, such as hair, nails, and wrinkles of the lips – all as fragments of a dream. This artistic project is a testament to the laborious and poetic journey of creating traces to construct a world.

Lilyjon, Southerly Breeze Chapter I-07: ‘When the southerly breeze comes…’, 2019, oil on canvas, 24 x 30 cm
Courtesy of the artist and Cub_ism_Artspace, Shanghai

EYECANDIES

Established in 2020
Shanghai

Eyecandies presents three female artists whose works address the roles, relationships and objectification of women in society. In Yanqi Liang’s artwork, a metaphorical intimate relationship is sewn onto fabric with printed motifs of hands and citrus fruits, depicting the complexity of the codependent relationship between humans through the threads linking hands. Weijue Wang creates striking needle-felted wool art that highlights the repression of female roles caused by social norms. Her subjects include women from adult films, domestic objects, and lingerie. Britain-based Swedish artist Frida Wannerberger’s large-scale female portraits, adorned in huge puff-sleeve dresses, fuse historical representations of women with modern garments as armour. The doll-like female figures strike irony with titles such as “You disappoint me in so many ways.”

Yanqi Liang, Bergamot 02, 2023, prints and cotton threads on canvas, 50 x 50 cm
Courtesy of the artist and Eyecandies, Shanghai

ThisWeekendRoom

Established in 2015
Seoul

Korean artist Hansaem Kim creates enchanting sculptural works that belong to the genre of contemporary fantasy. The artist presents a new series of artwork inspired by the Italian classic Dante’s Divine Comedy, in which the main character embarks on a journey through various scenes of the Inferno. The installation features religious and magic symbols in gold, stone, jewellery, and glass, as well as otherworldly statues that create a memorial-like atmosphere. By blending computer-generated images that resemble video games with objects of unique religious shapes and celestial colours, the artist transforms the classical into kitsch. Kim’s retelling of an age-old tale as mythology with imaginary aesthetics tests the validity of its significance in today’s world.

Hansaem Kim, The New Matter, 2023, acrylic paint, gold leaf, pigment print and resin, 55 x 42 x 4 cm
Courtesy of the artist and ThisWeekendRoom, Seoul

Gallery Palzo

Established in 2010
Cheongdo and Daegu

Korean artist Byeonghyeon Jeong takes an abrasive approach to painting. To begin, he covers multiple sheets of Hanji, the traditional Korean mulberry paper, with pigments, lets them dry and repeats the process until the papers are fully saturated with rich hues. Jeong then uses a tattoo needle to delicately engrave lines and dots on the paper, ripping off the surface colour from the precious Hanji layers to reveal the voluminosity of the paper and its underlying colours. The highly laborious process produces mesmerising geometrical compositions that invite the viewer to respond to the contrast between calmness and tension.

Byeonghyeon Jeong, Ambiguous Inclination 23038, 2023, pigment on Hanji on board, 30 x 30 cm
Photographed by Samju Choi. Courtesy of the artist and Gallery Palzo, Cheongdo and Daegu.

Project K

Established in 2021
Seoul

The artwork “A Totem for You and Us” by Korean artist Eojin Lee pays tribute to the marginalised labourers who make significant contributions to our society. In her childhood, she witnessed her grandmother practising shamanism in service to neighbours in the community. Taking inspiration from this memory, she uses her art to explore its power to heal the soul. In a new series, Lee addresses a tragic incident in 2022 where factory workers were killed and injured while working with machines at a bakery factory in Korea. The conspicuous absence of safety management and labour rights triggered the artist’s curiosity to scrutinise the place of dignity in the workplace, especially for factory workers. These reflections led the artist to create shamanic sculptures with delicate ceramics and found objects – symbolising the spiritual existence of each labourer – that juxtapose with conveyor belts used to deliver mass-produced goods. Lee also creates digital drawings by merging a shamanic Salpuri dance with body figures, a metaphor for the forced flexibility of low-wage workers.

Eojin Lee, Are you Okay? Vol.2 (detail), 2023, mirror, thread, found objects and metal, 80 x 100 x 40 cm
Courtesy of the artist and Project K, Seoul

PBG

Established in 2021
Seoul

In this solo presentation, Korean artist Surin Kim showcases sculptures and paintings that explore the boundaries between traditional production and digital technology. Through 3D programs, Kim finds the potential to develop forms with a novel language. Within a virtual geometric space, the artist commands computational formulas that connect lines and surface data into sculptures of unfamiliar beings. A female skeletal structure is mixed with elements of otherworldly creatures, resulting in uncanny sensuality. Kim also reinterprets the form of Korean traditional celadon ware by incorporating the element of emoji, contemplating the contemporary notion of prosperity.  In a new series, the artist has merged a pagoda and its attendant worshippers into one sculpture, prompting us to question how far faith in humanity will lead us into the future.

Surin Kim, Ancient Times, 2023, UV print on canvas, 91 x 72.2 cm
Courtesy of the artist and PBG, Seoul.

wamono art

Established in 2016
Hong Kong and Tokyo

Japanese artist Wataru Yamakami‘s paintings and sculptures present a world where objects are constantly drifting mid-air. Motifs such as slime, minerals, tree twigs and trunks are painted from refuse collected by the artist on seaside walks. Walking, collecting, observing and painting became a mediating practice for his anxiety, stemming from a deep-rooted scepticism that everything in the world is fictional. Making artwork is a way for him to negotiate with anxiety as if by tapping into the subconscious realm in a surrealist painting. Thus, drifting in Yamakami’s fantastical “World of the world” series seems to be the ultimate promise where instability is the only constant.

Wataru Yamakami, World of the World – Bridge, 2020, oil on canvas, 130 × 194 × 3cm
Courtesy of the artist and wamono art, Hong Kong and Tokyo

Warin Lab Contemporary

Established in 2021
Bangkok

Thai artist Jarupatcha Achavasmit engages environmental conservation and her background in textile and design to produce alchemic sculptural works. As a child, Achavasmit learned knitting, sewing, and needlework from her grandmother, who was a seamstress and sewing teacher in the Royal Palace. Her interest in textile innovation as an artist can be seen here through the re-working of a gigantic photographic canvas left behind after an exhibition by the artist Sakarin Krue-On. Achavasmit first deconstructed the material into small strips and later wove and interlaced them with recycled yarn and fabrics made of PET plastic bottles, copper, brass, and stainless steel, ultimately transforming the landscape scene from Krue-On’s original photograph into one of abstraction. The artist applied copper powder on different parts of the photographic canvas to produce a metallic patina, creating radiant sculptural objects when hung. She has also made new tapestries by weaving the photo-canvas with other recycled materials, such as discarded bags found on the beach. Jarupatcha Achavasmit’s novel use of materials pushes the boundaries of fabric art at the intersection of environmental conservation, challenging viewers to rethink art through the lens of sustainability. 

Jarupatcha Achavasmit, Colony, 2023, photographic canvas, recycled PET yarn, copper fabric, copper strips, copper powder, dimensions variable
Courtesy of the artist and Warin Lab Contemporary, Bangkok

V&E Art

Established in 2018
Taipei and Paris

“This Obscure Object of Desire” is a project by French artist Thomas Devaux, which comprises the series The Shoppers, Rayons, and Totems. In this project, the artist captures photographs of supermarket shelves and shoppers and applies algorithms to render and blur them into luminous colours. The resulting photographs are then delicately framed and positioned, much like an altar, transforming into hypnotic and contemplative icons of beauty. The abstracted images, in their reflective, glazed frames, invite the viewer to consider the artist’s proposition: “Are we living in a social fantasy of over-exquisite packaging while neglecting the essence of daily life?” Through the radiating glass, the work mirrors the dream of shopping bliss, which is, at once, both secular and sacred.

Thomas Devaux, “Shopper 8.8” (closeup), 2023, Pigmentprint,Dichroic glass, frame in alluminum with 22k gold leaf, 40x30cm
Courtesy of the artist and V&E ART, Taipei

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT