2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

2017年 Art Central 請來首屈一指的國際藝術家,在特定的環境質疑及挑戰傳統的藝術規範,推動觀眾重新審視習以為常的東西和環境,反省自己的期望,並邀請他們一起思索獨特的演出。

Tobias Gutmann

《Face-o-Mat》

瑞士藝術家 Tobias Gutmann 的作品以創作和探索人、文化和環境之間的不期而遇為核心,同時探討所看到事物的外表與內心真實感受的矛盾。他旨在設定出現這種對話的情境,作品在表演、裝置和工作坊之間不斷變化,而且帶出彼此的關聯和參與性質。他的「模擬肖像機器」作品《Face-o-mat》自2012年縱遊世界,並於2017年 Art Central 展出,是對科技世界令世人沉迷組合和繪畫理想身份的含蓄批判。《Face-o-mat》曾現身瑞士蘇黎世 Haus Konstrktiv 博物館、澳洲墨爾本 Supergraph 當代平面藝術博覽會和盧森堡現代美術館。

Amrita Hepi

《This___may not protect you but at times It’s enough to know it exists》

澳洲藝術家 Amrita Hepi 是 Bundjalung 及 Ngāpuhi 的舞者和編舞家,專注表演實驗舞蹈。她的舞蹈著重在過渡空間舞動,把她重要的文化傳統結合當代舞蹈訓練,並流露交集、文化回憶和流行文化的分野。Amrita 就讀於澳洲新威爾士的原住民島民技藝發展協會舞蹈學院,以及紐約 Alvin Ailey 美國舞蹈學校,曾於悉尼歌劇院、墨爾本新浪潮節、澳洲當代藝術博物館、墨爾本澳洲當代藝術中心、悉尼馬車創意空間、悉尼 TEDX 和加拿大亞伯達省班夫藝術創作中心展覽和表演。

Anida Yoeu Ali

《The Red Chador: Ban Me!》

Anida Yoeu Ali 身兼藝術家、教育家和國際策劃者,遊走於表演、裝置、錄像、影像、公眾偶遇和政治煽動等多元形式。她生於柬埔寨,在芝加哥長大,是第一代在美國長大的穆斯林高棉人。她利用跨形式創作,其裝置品和表演探討跨國身份者在藝術、精神和政治上的衝擊。Ali的裝置作品和表演廣獲邀展出,包括史密森尼博物館美國亞太裔中心、第五屆福岡亞洲藝術三年展、里昂現代藝術博物館、東京宮和第八屆亞太當代藝術三年展。2014年,她贏得香港 Sovereign Art Prize 頭獎。她分別於伊利諾大學(香檳分校)取得美術學士學位及芝加哥藝術學院美術碩士。她目前是華盛頓大學波塞爾分校的駐校藝術家,教授藝術、表演和全球研究課程。她居於華盛頓塔科馬,花費不少時間穿梭於亞太區和華盛頓之間工作。

Uji Handoko Eko Saputro 又名 Hahan

《Speculative Entertainment No.1 Hong Kong Edition》

Hahan 的藝術創作打破「高級藝術」和「低級藝術」的界線,模糊了現實情況。他結合了電影、音樂和街頭文化,賦予其獨特的視覺語言,以帶諷刺的幽默感和自發的行為,創出被形容為雜亂無章的現實。近年,Hahan 嘗試展現新的藝術模式,講求與訪客互動,並連繫到全球及本土社會的藝術發展。他是日惹年輕藝術家組織和創作空間 Ace House Collective 的其中一名創辦人,力求透過跨界別的工作過程、合作和研究,演繹印尼當代社會的文化。多間藝術博物館也有收藏他的作品,包括澳洲布里斯本昆士蘭現代藝術博物館和澳洲墨爾本維多利亞國立美術館。

鄭得恩

《Fair Gestures》

鄭得恩身兼多重角色和身份,包括藝術家、導演、表演者、作家、獨立策展人和藝術組合Interlocutor 的創辦人,以流動影像、裝置品、策展、舞蹈、音樂活動、劇場和表演作為創作媒介。他的作品關注當代城市生活的細節,探討地方、旅遊、虛構、記憶、時間和目的地等命題。他於倫敦大學金匠學院獲頒創意書寫碩士,以及取得香港大學英國文學及藝術史學士學位。他的最新香港表演包括在油街實現放映的《我與你同在》電影,以及香港藝術博物館的「往迴之旅」跨媒界藝術派對。

關於4A當代亞洲藝術中心

4A當代亞洲藝術中心透過研究、紀錄、開發、討論和展示當代的視覺藝術,促進當代亞洲和澳洲文化的卓越藝術發展和創意。中心於1996年在悉尼成立,旨在以當代視覺藝術闡釋澳洲和亞太區之間的活躍關係。

4A採用獨特的手法突出澳洲的文化多元,推出各式各樣的豐富活動,包括本地和國際展覽、公眾節目、工作坊、研討會、學術討論會和社區活動。他們的努力得到本地和國際公認,有效加強公眾對亞洲和澳洲文化藝術的認識,同時提高澳洲在亞太區的文化地位。

2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

MARCH 2025
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT
HONG KONG

In partnership with 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art, Art Central 2017 presented site-specific works by leading international artists, all working to question and challenge the conventional canon of art, encouraging the audience to reconsider familiar objects and situations, challenging the viewer to rethink their expectations and inviting them to speculate on a spectacle.

Tobias Gutmann

Face-o-Mat

At the heart of Tobias Gutmann’s artistic practice lies the creation and investigation of encounters – between people, cultures, and environments, but also between what we perceive on the outside and what we feel on the inside. The Swiss artist aims to set up situations where such a dialogue can happen. His works morph between performance, installation, and workshops and often have relational and participatory aspects to them. His Face-O-Mat, an analogue portrait machine, has travelled the world since 2012 and was featured prominently at Art Central 2017. It can be viewed as a quiet critique of how technology has made us obsessed with assembling and portraying an identity that puts us in the best light. Previous Face-O-Mat projects include Museum Haus Konstrktiv, Zurich, Switzerland, Supergraph, Melbourne, Australia and Mudam, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg.

Amrita Hepi

This___may not protect you but at times It’s enough to know it exists

Amrita Hepi is a Bundjulung and Ngapuhi dancer and choreographer working in experimental dance. Her choreography is rooted in creating movement in transitional spaces, interweaving her urgent cultural heritage and contemporary dance training. The barriers of intersectionality, cultural memory and pop cultural references also feature in her work. Amrita has trained at the National Aboriginal Islander Skills Development Association (NAISDA) dance college, New South Wales, Australia and Alvin Ailey American Dance School, New York. She has exhibited and performed at Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Next Wave Festival, Melbourne, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Australia; the Australian Centre for Contemporary art, Melbourne, Carriageworks, Sydney, TEDx, Sydney and Banff Centre, Alberta, Canada.

Anida Yoeu Ali

The Red Chador: Ban Me!

Anida Yoeu Ali is an artist, educator and global agitator. Ali’s multi-disciplinary practices include performance, installation, videos, images, public encounters, and political agitation. She is a first-generation Muslim Khmer woman born in Cambodia and raised in Chicago. Utilising an interdisciplinary approach to art-making, her installation and performance works investigate the artistic, spiritual and political collisions of a hybrid transnational identity. Ali’s works have been exhibited widely, including installations and performances at the Smithsonian Asian Pacific American Center, 5th Fukuoka Asian Art Triennial, Lyon Museum of Contemporary Art, Palais de Tokyo, and the Asia Pacific Triennial 8. In 2014, Ali won the top prize of the Sovereign Art Prize, Hong Kong. Ali earned her B.F.A. from the University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign) and an M.F.A. from the School of the Art Institute Chicago. She is currently the Artist-in-Residence at the University of Washington Bothell, teaching art, performance and global studies courses. Ali resides in Tacoma, Washington and spends much of her time travelling and working between the Asia-Pacific region and the US.

Uji Handoko Eko Saputro aka Hahan

Speculative Entertainment No.1 Hong Kong Edition

Hahan’s artmaking concerns the tussle between ‘high art’ and ‘low art’, blurring realism with decoration. Hahan incorporates film, music and street culture into a distinct visual language, creating a sense of movement and spontaneity in what can be described as a topsy-turvy reality steeped in satirical humour. In recent years, he has attempted to display art with the concept that emphasises interaction with visitors and relates it to the development of art globally and its society. He is also one of the founders of Ace House Collective, a young artists’ collective and initiative space based in Yogyakarta, which tries to capture the culture of Indonesian contemporary society through a multidisciplinary work process, collaboration, and research. His works have been collected by museums, including the Queensland Art Gallery of Modern Art (QAGOMA) Brisbane, Australia and the National Gallery of Victoria (NGV) Melbourne, Australia.

Enoch Cheng

Fair Gestures

Enoch Cheng is an artist, director, performer, writer, independent curator, and founder of the art collective Interlocutor. His practice involves the moving image, installation, curating, dance, music events, theatre and performance. Concerned with the everyday subtleties in contemporary urban lives, his works explore recurrent themes of place, travel, fiction, memory, time and destination. He received his MA in Creative Writing from Goldsmiths, London and BA in English Literature and Art History at the University of Hong Kong. His most recent shows in Hong Kong include You Are Not Alone at Oi! Oil Street Art Space and The Memory of Proximity at Hong Kong Museum of Art.

About 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art

4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art fosters excellence and innovation in contemporary Asian and Australian culture through research, documentation, development, discussion and presentation of contemporary visual art. Operating since 1996 from a base in Sydney, Australia, 4A’s aim is to ensure contemporary visual art plays a central role in understanding the dynamic relationship between Australia and the Asia-Pacific region.

4A has a distinctive approach to addressing Australia’s cultural diversity through a dynamic program including local and international exhibitions, public programs, workshops, seminars, symposiums and community activities. These have been recognised locally and internationally as having raised awareness of Asian-Australian art and culture and Australia’s place in the Asia-Pacific region.

MARCH 2025
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT