2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

Art Central 呈獻特別展覽,由 Art Central 2023 的策展顧問萬豐及 Wure Area 創辦人、策展人葉偉靖策劃。 

參展藝術家:影波,歐陽應霽,朱頌琪,挨壁靠事務所,高哼,何婷,何兆南,羅玉梅,凌中雲,勞麗麗,盧永滔,譚敏晴,唐嘉欣,韋邦雨,王順瑜,吳佳儒。

Epical Chamber, Cctv, 2022, hand-built glazed ceramic, 19 x 17 x 26 cm. Courtesy of the artist.​

「青喉:開始攪動」

在「攪動乳海」的傳說中,善惡諸神為求永生藥而合力攪動大海,雖湧出寶物卻產生了毀滅一切的毒液;主神濕婆將劇毒吞下拯救世界,喉嚨也因此灼燒成青藍色,成為與苦難永遠共存的「青喉者」。

古老的故事隱喻了人類社會的現實。現代性進程和全球化趨勢在起伏中不斷互相影響且加速發展,捲進於這非凡事件中的人們承受著情感、意志、慾望與身體之間情動流變的永恆考驗。

「青喉:開始攪動」作為「青喉」系列的首個展覽,集合了十六位來自香港的藝術家,以當代藝術為稜鏡、以香港這個現代都市為樣本,去重新詮釋和想像當代的個人與集體、自我與世界的關係。

開始攪動,不被看見的將被重新照見,無聲的青喉者再引歌聲。

講座

2023年3月21日(星期二)下午6時

講者:Art Central 2023 策展顧問 萬豐、香港 Wure Area 創辦人及策展人 葉偉靖;藝術家盧永滔、朱頌琪、王順瑜、何婷。

策展人萬豐及葉偉靖與參展藝術家一同探討展會的特別展覽。

Maggie Chu, Barren Rocks reminiscences "1, 2021 – 2022, postcard collage, cardboards, cement, clay, steel wire and found objects, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist.

策展人簡介

葉偉靖,藝術家、策展人,先後畢業於香港浸會大學學士(視覺藝術系)及倫敦溫布頓藝術學院碩士(繪畫系)。他現居香港,並於九龍灣工業區成立了一個獨立藝術空間,WURE AREA,鼓勵觀眾享受抽象的視覺語言,隨著感官牽引聯想,同時探索慣性以外的觀察模式。

萬豐(Chris Wan),獨立策展人,寫作者,工作生活於香港,他的寫作和策展研究關注地方性和藝術生態系統的交織。他近期策劃的展覽包括《一份收藏,兩次展演》(2022,Rossi & Rossi),《塵》(2022,Whitestone),《餘炙》(2021,Axel Vervoodt)等。2023年,他發起了「青喉」項目,一個持續進行中的關於離散和華人文化的策展項目。萬豐為許多藝術媒體和大眾媒體撰稿,如藝術論壇和端傳媒等。他也是藝術寫作平台「島聚」的創始人和執行編輯,該非盈利藝評項目特別關注以香港為中心的當代藝術現場。

2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT
HONG KONG

Art Central 2023 presented a special exhibition curated by Chris Wan, the Fair’s 2023 Curatorial Advisor, and Jeremy Ip, curator, and founder of the independent art space Wure Area.

Participating artists: Alberto Gerosa Volontè, Ringo Lo, Wu Jiaru, Amy Tong, Go Hung, Maggie Chu, Epical Chamber, Lo Lai Lai Natalie, Wong Shun Yu, Kevin Ling Chung Wan, Wai Pongyu, Law Yuk-mui, Michelle Tam, Au Yeung Ying Chai, HO Ting, and South Ho.

Epical Chamber, Cctv, 2022, hand-built glazed ceramic, 19 x 17 x 26 cm. Courtesy of the artist.

Blue Throat: Start the Churning

In the legend of the Samudra Manthana, or “churning of the ocean of milk”, the devas (gods) and their archnemeses, the asuras (demigods), stir the ocean, attempting to produce amrita, the elixir of immortality. This gift of the sea is eventually revealed, but not before the halahala – a poison so toxic that it threatens to destroy all living beings. Coming to the rescue, the great god Shiva takes the poison in his throat, turning it blue forever.

This ancient story metaphorically echoes the present day, a time in which modernity and globalisation intertwine with constantly accelerating development.

Societies engaged in these extraordinary transformations perpetually face tests of their beliefs, desires and bodies – absorbing the tensions churned up in the process.

Blue Throat: Start the Churning brings together sixteen artists from Hong Kong to examine and reinterpret the relationship between the individual and the collective, self and the contemporary world through the lens of art – here in the modern metropolis of Hong Kong.

Let’s start the churning, let the unseen be revealed. May the voiceless blue throat lead the song once more.

Artist & Curator Talk

Tuesday 21 March 2023, 6pm

Speakers: Chris Wan (Art Central 2023 Curatorial Advisor), Jeremy Ip (Curator and Founder, Wure Area, Hong Kong), Ringo Lo, Maggie Chu, Wong Shun Yu and Ho Ting

Curators Chris Wan and Jeremy Ip discussed the Fair’s special exhibition. With artist participation.

This talk was held in the Art Central Theatre.

Maggie Chu, Barren Rocks reminiscences "1, 2021 – 2022, ,ostcard collage, cardboards, cement, clay, steel wire and found objects, dimensions variable. Courtesy of the artist.

About the Curators

Artist and curator Jeremy Ip graduated from Hong Kong Baptist University (BA, Visual Arts) and Wimbledon College of Arts (MA, Painting). He is currently based in Hong Kong and developing an independent art space, WURE AREA, which is related to his study of artistic labour turning into abstraction and the treasure of imperfection.

Chris Wan Feng is a Hong Kong-based writer and independent curator with a research focus on locality and art ecosystem. His recent exhibitions include A Collection in Two Acts (2022, Rossi & Rossi), The Dust of a Long Journey (2022, Whitestone), Residual Heat (2021, Axel Vervoordt), amongst others. In 2023, he initialised “Blue Throat”, an ongoing curatorial programme on Chinese diaspora and displacement. Chris has contributed to many art journals and other media publications, e.g., Artforum and Initium Media. He is also the founder and editor of Daoju (www.daoju.art), a not-for-profit art writing project focusing on Hong Kong’s contemporary art scene.

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT