2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

陳敬元

《夢遊記二部曲》,2018至2019年

《夢遊記二部曲》為一系列兩部紀實虛構式遊記,分別是《重慶失途》與《甦唄暹羅》,來自他到重慶和泰國的遊歷與夢境,而重慶直轄市是全世界最大的都市區。他在遊記內透過遊客和發夢者的精神感應及心理狀態,置身於不同的現實環境。

忻慧姸

《局部失明》,2019年 

局部失明是以眼科檢查/觀察診斷形式構成的半自傳式影片,記錄了一些自我對話:一個人離世後還剩下什麼?這是作為連續經歷幾段逝去個體的我、作為觀察者身份目睹身邊朋友和事物轉變的另一個我,以及與其他聲音的關係,呼應主題和局外人之間的距離。

曹澍

《憂鬱的北溫帶》,2018年

這個作品系列開始於一塊瓷磚,我有記憶以來的第一個畫面。後來通過許多年的記夢訓練,我慢慢記起來了,這塊瓷磚的形狀是我們家第一次搬家之前,我一歲多的時候的那個廁所的地磚。那個地磚的貼圖後來我無意間在3D軟體的貼圖庫中找到了,它也是工業流水線上某一個時代的產品。巧合的是阿拉斯泰爾(Alastair)的小說《Zima Blue》,恰好也是關於一塊工業流水線上生產的瓷磚。我從家裡的那塊地磚開始,通過夢境記錄以及家人的描述,慢慢將有關那個家的所有,用3D軟體拼裝了出來。那個空間也是後來不同時期夢裡片段反覆發生的地方,一個把不同年齡階段的人生折疊進去的高維度房間。

曹澍

《活在昨天的人》,2019年 

一個聲音貫穿於影片,這個匿名的、夢囈般的發聲者,訴說著一個關於昨天的故事。發聲者的聲音似乎來自不同的地方,來自不同的「化身」,而發聲者自己卻是藏匿的。它的每個化身都是「這個昨天」的塑造者,而昨天恰恰構成了未來。《活在昨天的人》屬於電腦渲染影像,延續了作者關於數碼存在物、多視角、空間敘事的探索。

蔡世豪

《Black Moon》,2019年

2019年是人類登陸月球50周年,這段影片借助電腦動畫從另一個角度重塑月球,並以動感方式呈現月球的面貌。《Black Moon》包含電腦美術片段,如以紅色高廈模擬月球表面的城市區,還有電腦創造的月球表面特寫,令月球展現出不同的效果。作者利用放大、逐漸消失和旋轉影像,迸合不同事物的形狀等剪輯技巧,在某些範圍,影像又與音樂節奏同步,效果鮮明突出。

影像:蔡世豪及林志輝
作曲:蔡世豪及黃靖
歌詞及主唱:黃靖
編曲及監製:蔡世豪
彈奏:蔡世豪,黃靖客串

蔡世豪

《Signals》,2020年

蔡世豪的樂曲《Signals》被 Sónar Calling 電子音樂節選中,編碼成「0」及「1」,於2018年5月發射到天際遠處可能適合人類居住的太陽系外行星 GJ273b 星球。蔡世豪及林志輝隨後使用相同的「0」及「1」編碼製作影像,分別以紅色及藍色的物體代表「0」及「1」。影片包含了15個動畫片段,每個片段的「0」及「1」編碼排列是從隨機位置開始。他們利用放大、逐漸消失和旋轉影像,迸合不同事物的形狀等剪輯技巧,在某些範圍,影像又與音樂節奏同步,效果鮮明突出。他繼續研究以作品的多元性,與人類期望探索宇宙的悠長歷史互相輝映。

鄭虹

《日落作為地點》,2020年

我到處尋覓極度平靜的地方,它到底存在嗎?

2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT
HONG KONG

In this virtual collaboration, five ground-breaking multi-media artists, Cao Shu, Winnie Yan, Cheng Hung Dony, Choi Sai Ho, and Joseph Chen share with us their digital worlds through works that document their changing perspectives on life, the internet, and fictional journeys of discovery. This showcase will reconstruct their expansive creative bodies and careers and examines how digital worlds can affect our perception of art.

Joseph Chen

Sleeptripping Dualogy, 2018–2019

Sleeptripping Dualogy is a series of two docu-fictional travelogues, “Chungking Detour” and “Siam Rehab”. These two pieces are born from artist Joseph Chen’s tours and dreams during a trip to Thailand and to Chongqing, a Chinese municipality that is the largest urban area in the world. In the travelogues, the artist finds himself occupying different realities, through the spiritual and mental state of a tourist and a dreamer.

Winnie Yan

Localized Blindness, 2019

Constructed in the form of an eye test/observational diagnosis, Localized Blindness is a semi-autobiographical video that documents several internal monologues: What is left after the passing of an individual? It’s between me – an individual who witnessed consecutive passings; another me – an observational being who observed the changes of my accompany and the surrounding; and the other voices, all that echo the distance between the subject and the outsider.

Cao Shu

Tristes North Temperate Zone, 2018

This series starts with a tile, the first picture I have ever remembered. Later, after many years of training in remembering dreams, I gradually remembered that the shape of the fast ceramic tile was the floor tile of the toilet when I was more than one year old before my family moved for the first time. Later, I found the mapping of the floor tile in the mapping Library of 3D software. It is also a product of a certain era on the industrial assembly line. Coincidentally, Alastair’s novel Zima Blue is also about a ceramic tile produced on an industrial assembly line.  I started with the tile in my home. Through dream records and family descriptions, I slowly assembled all the things about that home with 3D software. That space is also the place where the fragments of dreams in different periods occur repeatedly, a high-dimensional room that folds the lives of different ages into.

Cao Shu

The One Who Lived Yesterday, 2019

A voice runs through the film, the anonymous, dreamlike speaker is telling a story about yesterday. The voice of the speaker seems to come from a different place,  from a different “incarnation”, while the speaker himself is hiding. Each of its incarnations is the shaper of “This yesterday,” and yesterday is just made up the future.  “People who live Yesterday” is a digitally simulated image, continuing the author’s exploration of digital existence, multi-angle of view, and spatial narration.

Choi Sai Ho

Black Moon, 2019

2019 is the 50th anniversary of human beings landing on the moon. These visuals re-imagine the moon in another perspective with the help of computer animation, and express the moon in a dynamic way. The visuals of Black Moon include computer graphic footage creating the moon with different effects, such as red building towers simulating urban areas on the moon surface and computer-made moon surface close-ups. The editing techniques used enlarging, diminishing and rotating the visuals, matching the shapes of different objects, and at the same time, the visuals synchronizing the rhythm of music for certain areas.

Visuals by CHOI Sai-Ho and LAM Chi-Fai Jason
Music composed by CHOI Sai-Ho and Jing WONG
Lyrics and vocals by Jing WONG
Music arranged and produced by CHOI Sai-Ho
Music performed by CHOI Sai-Ho featuring Jing WONG

Choi Sai Ho

Signals, 2020

Choi Sai-Ho’s music piece “Signals” was chosen by the music festival Sónar Calling and “Signals” was encoded into “0” & “1”, and sent to a far-away potentially habitable exoplanet called GJ273b in May 2018. Choi Sai-Ho and Lam Chi-Fai Jason subsequently use the same codes of “0” & “1” to make the visuals with red and blue objects representing “0” & “1” respectively. The video consists of 15 animation clips and each clip shows the “0” & “1” pattern started from a random position. The editing techniques used enlarging, diminishing and rotating the visuals, matching the shapes, and the visuals synchronizing the rhythm of music for certain areas. Continuing to explore the diversity of the artworks resonates with the long history of human aspirations in exploring the universe.

Music by CHOI Sai-Ho
Visuals by CHOI Sai-Ho and LAM Chi-Fai Jason

Cheng Hung Dony

Sunset as a Place, 2020

This perfectly calm place that I am searching for, does it exist?

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT