2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

Rony Plesl

大型獵物》,2023
透明鑄造玻璃,鈾鑄造玻璃
約 200 x 300 x 170 厘米
由Kvalitář呈獻

著名捷克玻璃藝術家Rony Plesl使用精妙的玻璃雕塑創作超現實場景。藝術家對文藝復興及巴洛克時期的宗教藝術和建築極為著迷,他借助精巧的技術鑄造出玻璃,將神聖的主題帶到現代。連根拔起的樹幹、花束、破碎的天使等共同構成的裝置,實現了古典虛空的象徵意義,顯示生命的短暫。玻璃中的漸變白色,與鈾鑄造玻璃中鮮豔的紅色和綠色,形成鮮明對比,構建了一個戲劇性且夢幻般的場景,引發人們反思災難後,如何留存。

Image: Thorn, 2023, uranium cast glass, 32 x 70 x 170 cm. Photo by Anna Pleslová.

Sam Shendi

《頻率 I, II & III》,2023
不鏽鋼,(i) 120w x 90d x 232h 厘米, (ii) 160w x 100d x 140h 厘米, (iii) 120w x 90d x 210h 厘米
由AN INC.呈獻

埃及出生的英國藝術家Sam Shendi最新的「頻率」雕塑系列自2023年倫敦皇家藝術學院夏季展覽首展後,亮相Art Central。引人注目的抽象雕塑從人體型態中汲取靈感,經由複雜工序製造。材料經過長時間手工拋光,發揮極簡美學。配以雕塑的鮮豔色彩,它們儘管缺乏明顯特徵,卻某程度透現人類的動作和形態。觀眾的目光沿著彎曲的線條移動,極富韻律,使人感受的樂趣超越文化界限。他的藝術作品證明將形式、線條和色彩結合起來,能創造出一種富有力量並引人共鳴的通用語言。

山上渡

《世界之世界——存在和缺席的序列》,2024
丙烯顏料,棉布
350 x 700 厘米
由wamono art呈獻

日本藝術家山上渡的巨型畫作就如一扇窗,讓人進入藝術家想像中的世界。同時,它也是我們身處的現實世界的一個隱喻。畫中毫無人類存在的痕跡,四處都是漂浮的物體,喚起面對衝突的情緒、以及對寧靜的困惑。它是如此神秘,令人著迷。四散的物體像是被空氣捲走,那瞬間被捕捉刻畫。這幅巨大的雙面畫作促使觀眾思考他們如何將自己置於廣闊而複雜的宇宙中。我們是否像是剛剛經歷重創傷,還留在往昔當中?還是我們已準備好擁抱未來的可能性?

Andrea Samory

《凱美拉 1.6》,2024
3D打印樹脂,發泡聚氨酯,亮漆,顏料
189 x 156 x 270 厘米
由艸愚軒呈獻

現居東京的義大利藝術家Andrea Samory創作大型雕塑,反映出人類對於未來的希望和恐懼。借助3D雕刻及打印技術,藝術家巧妙地將自然及虛擬世界的生物融合,產生新的實體,一種像是來自民間傳說和科幻小說的巨大生物。參考流行文化和當代神話形塑的集體記憶,Andrea Samory邀請觀眾思考他們對未來的烏托邦或反烏托邦世界之間的願景。在一個不再能免受生物工程、環境災難、化學和輻射威脅的世界中,藝術家奇異的雕塑反映了我們對近在咫尺的未來的迷戀與厭惡、恐懼與興奮。

Sangsun Bae

《無線延續》2024
染色繩索,陶瓷,收藏級打印
尺寸可變,約500 x 500 x 250 厘米
由LEE & BAE呈獻

現居京都的南韓藝術家Sangsun Bae創作全新裝置作品,繼續她圍繞繩結作為女性氣質象徵的探索與研究。Sangsun Bae從韓國傳統工藝「Maedeup」中汲取靈感。這種工藝涉及複雜的打結技術,通常用於裝飾性的手工藝品。藝術家使用從繩索到陶瓷的各種材料來製作繩結,代表作為一位母親和妻子的情感體驗。捆綁巨大繩索的複雜過程,以及將陶泥繩結轉變成陶瓷的燒製過程,傳達了一種既堅強又細膩的女性生命力。同時,她的作品也暗示了人與人之間的聯繫,例如,結婚通常稱為「喜結連理」;新生兒的臍帶被剪斷、打結。

鄭得恩

策展總監

鄭得恩是藝術家及策展人,他使用的媒介包括流動影像、裝置、策展、舞蹈、劇場、表演、活動、寫作、時裝及教育。作品探討不同領域及傳統的界限,探討的命題包括歸宿、旅程、精神健康、跨文化歷史、價值、虛構、記憶、時間、絕種及流散。

 

嶄新連結

2024年是香港復常的一年。過去幾年讓我們體會到親眼見到藝術作品是多麼寶貴的體驗。大型的藝術作品能為我們帶來持久的感官衝擊,迫使我們停下來仔細欣賞觀賞,為我們帶來印象深刻的經歷。這神奇的力量讓我們能以超越日常生活的新視角觀看世界。

Art Central 2024的 「異體:雕塑及裝置項目」 展區著重感官體驗。例如Sam Shendi優雅且充滿活力的鋼質雕塑作品展現一種普世的愉悅;在紛亂世代,愉悅的感覺彷彿簡單,卻彌足珍貴。又如Rony Plesl的玻璃裝置一般,促使觀者思考在現代社會中,神聖空間的位置。Andrea Samory採用3D打印技術製造異形生物,巧妙捕捉我們對於未來不確定性的集體情緒。山上渡的巨型畫作充滿漂浮的物體,將我們帶入清晰及模糊的中間地帶,像是剛從末世劫難中醒來。Sangsun Bae使用陶瓷及繩結打造巨型裝置,其中所展現的女性力量和溫柔,對我們每個人的人生尤其重要。

「滿足於現狀無法導向趣味的人生」,這一格言道出藝術家在社會中的重要性。他們使用特別的視角觀察社會,創作出藝術作品,藉由反映真實的情感給予我們靈感。藝術提供一個媒介,刺激我們感官,幫助我們理解時常遺忘、忽視、忽略甚至完全不了解的議題。因此,透過大型裝置體驗藝術是不可多得的機會,我們得以鍛鍊出對於人生的好奇心,藉以成為更富有想像力、且有血有肉的人。

2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT
HONG KONG

Rony Plesl

The Big Game, 2023
Crystal cast glass, uranium cast glass
approximately 200 x 300 x 170 cm
Presented by Kvalitář

Renowned Czech glass artist Rony Plesl creates a surreal scene with his delicate glass sculptures. Fascinated by religious art and architecture from the Renaissance and Baroque periods, the artist brings sacred motifs to modern times by using sophisticated technology to cast glass like bronze. The resulting landscape, created with fallen and uprooted tree trunks, flower bouquets, and a broken angel, achieves a classical vanitas symbolism that suggests the transience of life. The striking contrast between the gradation of white in the crystal cast glass and the vivid red and green in the red and uranium cast glass constructs a dramatic and dreamlike scene that evokes questions about what endures after a catastrophe.

Image: Thorn, 2023, uranium cast glass, 32 x 70 x 170 cm. Photo by Anna Pleslová.

Sam Shendi

Frequency I, II & III, 2023
Stainless steel, (i) 120w x 90d x 232h cm, (ii) 160w x 100d x 140h cm, (iii) 120w x 90d x 210h cm
Presented by AN INC.

The recent sculpture series, Frequency, by Egyptian-born British artist Sam Shendi arrives at Art Central fresh from its celebrated debut at the Royal Academy London 2023 Summer Exhibition. His striking abstract sculptures are inspired by the human form and are crafted through meticulous mechanical production, with each stainless steel section undergoing hours of manual sanding to achieve a minimalist aesthetic. The sculptures are then adorned with vibrant colours that evoke human movements and forms, despite their lack of recognisable features. Shendi’s use of sleek, curvy lines directs the viewer’s eye to move with rhythms, creating a sense of playful joy that transcends cultural boundaries. His artwork is a testament to the power of combining form, line, and colour to create a universal language that resonates with all people.

Wataru Yamakami

World of the world – Sequence of presence and absence, 2024
Acrylic painting on cotton cloth
350 x 700 cm
Presented by wamono art

Transport yourself to a different universe with this large painting by Japanese artist Wataru Yamakami. The impressively scaled artwork serves as a window into Yamakami’s imaginative world while also as a powerful metaphor for our own. Void of human presence, the landscape is filled with drifting objects that evoke a sense of conflicting emotions – a tranquil confusion that is both mesmerising and mysterious. The objects seem to be lost or carried by the air, capturing a poignant moment in the midst of a storm. The colossal, two-sided painting prompts viewers to contemplate how they situate themselves in a vast and complex universe. Are we trapped in the past, as if right after a traumatic event, or are we free to embrace the potential of the future?

Andrea Samory

Chimera 1.6, 2024
3D-printed resin, expanded polyurethane, lacquer, pigments
189 x 156 x 270 cm
Presented by Wan Gallery

The Tokyo-based Italian artist, Andrea Samory, has created a magnificent sculpture that mirrors our hopes and fears of the future. With the help of 3D sculpting and printing techniques, the artist has masterfully blended forms from the natural and digital worlds to produce a new entity. The result is a colossal iridescent creature that emerged from the realms of folklore and science fiction. By drawing upon the collective memory of popular culture and contemporary mythologies, Samory invites viewers to ponder over their utopian or dystopian visions of tomorrow. In a world that is no longer immune to the dangers of bioengineering, environmental disasters, and the threat of chemical and radiation emergencies, Samory’s uncanny sculpture encapsulates our fascination and revulsion, our fear and excitement regarding the future that looms ahead of us.

Sangsun Bae

Threadless Renewal, 2024
Rope soaked in dye, ceramic, archival pigment print
Dimensions variable, approximately 500 x 500 x 250 cm
Presented by LEE & BAE

Kyoto-based Korean artist Sangsun Bae unveils a new installation that delves into her extensive research of knots as symbols of womanhood. Bae derives inspiration from the traditional Korean craft of maedeup, which involves intricate knotting techniques and is often associated with decorative handcraft. The artist employs various materials, ranging from ropes to ceramics, to create her knots, which represent emotional experiences as a mother and wife. The elaborate process of tying enormous ropes and the firing process that transforms clay knots into ceramics convey a sense of female resilience that is both strong and delicate. Bae’s work also alludes to the idea of forging new connections, such as through marriage, often referred to as “tying the knot,” or through childbirth, represented by the umbilical cord.

Enoch Cheng

Curatorial Director

Enoch Cheng is an artist-curator whose practice spans moving image, installation, curating, dance, events, theatre, writing, fashion, performance, and pedagogy. His work explores the boundaries among various disciplines and traditions, with recurrent themes of belonging, travel, care, cross-cultural history, value, fiction, memory, time, migration, and extinction.

Fresh Connections

The year 2024 heralds a return to normal in Hong Kong. The past years have taught us to value the experience of seeing art in person – being in the presence of large-scale artefacts can be a profound experience that challenges us to pause and truly observe, allowing us to see and feel as if it were our first time. These experiences awaken a sense of wonder and allow us to appreciate the world beyond the ordinary. 

These sensory experiences are alive in Art Central’s 2024 Yi Tai Sculpture & Installation Projects. Take, for example, Sam Shendi’s elegant and spirited steel sculptures that reveal a universal pleasure—that something simple, yet at times chaotic, can also be rare and precious. Or Rony Plesl’s glass installation that prompts reflection on the location of sacred space in society. Andrea Samory’s otherworldly 3D-printed creature captures our collective psyche about the wild tomorrow. While Wataru Yamakami’s giant painting of drifting objects presents us with the moment between clarity and confusion, as if we have just awakened from an apocalyptic event. Sangsun Bae’s installation of ceramic and rope knots represents the strength and tenderness of womanhood, essential to our collective existence.

An interesting life is not lived by the status quo. This maxim reminds us of the importance of artists in society, who see the world through a unique lens and create works that inspire us with emotional truths. Art provides an opportunity to refresh our senses and deepen our understanding of topics we may forget, neglect, ignore, or not know at all. Therefore, experiencing art on a grand scale can be an exceptional occasion to train our curiosity about life and help us become more imaginative, sentient beings.

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT