2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

Glen Hayward

《Everyday People》
由 PAULNACHE 呈獻

這是新西蘭雕塑家 Glen Hayward 的大型特定場地裝置,利用逾1,000枚以木和油漆製成的手製生鏽鐵釘,直接釘在展會的牆上。他從香港人對國家身分認同的二分論取得靈感,詮釋了對個人與整體的看法。他把過千枚木釘散落分佈於牆上,每枚都有其獨立的記號,但每一枚也是整體裝置的一部分,當中選用的物料與鐵釘的本質互相矛盾,藉此叩問個人被界定的身分價值。

Simon Pericich

《!!!ALL TOGETHER NOW!!!》
由 MARS Gallery 呈獻

以可溶解垃圾膠袋創作的特定場地裝置,噴上光面物料修飾,以廉價而空洞的材質,凸顯了作品的巨大和不安感,影射了對未來的反面思維、人類對末世的想像,以及他形容 「嘲諷人類終必滅亡」的觀點。裝置就放置於展會入口右邊,以對藝術商業化的批判態度恭迎入場觀眾。

湯杰

《石語》
由 Line Gallery 呈獻

湯杰在湖南的鄉郊長大,自小便嚮往在繁盛大都會追求自然的風貌。他因此在作品中結合自然和工業元素,而展會正好提供完美的環境。他相信作品本身就是「故事說書人」,石語 結合了特質相對的物件,邀請觀眾一起探討生命的自然定律和宇宙律動。

Hannah Quinlivan

《Estuary》
由 .M Contemporary 呈獻

Quinlivan 這件作品靈感來自法國思想家 Henri Lefebvre 的節奏分析理論(Rythmanalysis),以短暫的空間素描詮釋和介入城市生活的節奏,同時捕捉展會的動感活力。她分開兩階段建構作品,首先在展會開幕前吊起以鐵絲網和尼龍交纏而成的裝置,然後在展覽期間,再在裝置的影子灑上鹽粒,以對應首階段的裝置,並藉此記錄往來 Art Central 的人流和能量。這種辯證表演方式,是對展會、其時限性、節奏流動和空間的回應。

Santi Wangchuan

《Auba》
由 Yeo Workshop 呈獻

泰國藝術家 Santi Wangchuan 透過這個大型裝置,演繹了其家鄉的文化和生活方式。作品由三個高約十米、交織串連的「Auba」花環組成,在泰國,這些花環由不同的鄉村編織,在特別的節日用來向佛祖致敬。藝術家利用繩索、絲線和纖維串起花環,重新演繹泰國東北部這項獨特文化。

余友涵

《Mosaic》
由 Rén Space 呈獻

Rén Space 為今年的 Art Central 帶來余友涵的最新創作,他繼續運用舊物料配合新技術,以其迄今最大型的裝置表達他的藝術想像。余友涵是第一代的中國當代藝術家,有「中國抽象繪畫之父」之稱,更被譽為是中國「政治波普」大師,聲名顯赫,前衛的作風備受推崇。

林志恒

策展顧問

林志恆是亞洲領先的獨立藝術機構之一的 Para Site 的藝術家,策展人,製片人,前製作負責人和副策展人。他在2015年策展了「Imagine there’s no country, Above us only our cities」探討在民族主義和地緣政治框架下個人身份的概念。林志恆畢業於香港浸會大學視覺藝術學院,並於2013年獲得享有盛譽的香港藝術獎。

裝置藝術 2017

今年請來 Para Site 藝術空間的前策展人林志恒策劃,展出多個大型當代藝術裝置和互動藝術,每件作品均以獨特的原材料製造。

2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT
HONG KONG

Glen Hayward

Everyday People
Presented by PAULNACHE

Everyday People is a large-scale, site specific installation by New Zealand-born sculptor Glen Hayward, of over 1000+ hand carved rusty nails (created from wood and paint) inserted directly into a feature wall at Art Central. Inspired by the dichotomy of Hong Kong’s national identity, the artist plays on the notion of the individual versus the collective. Over a thousand wooden nails scattered across a wall carry their individual marking but are also part of a larger collective. The choice of material contradicts the inherent qualities of the depicted object; questioning the values of one’s portrayed identity.

Simon Pericich

!!!ALL TOGETHER NOW!!!
Presented by MARS Gallery

!!!ALL TOGETHER NOW!!! is a site-specific installation made from melted plastic garbage bags, coated in glitter. Contrary to its inexpensive and hollow material existence, the installation asserts a grandiose and ominous presence. Simon Pericich’s practice explores dystopic visions of the future, apocalyptic ideas and what he has described as the “hilariously doomed nature of humanity”. Positioned right at the Fair entrance, the installation welcomes visitors with a critique of the commercial art landscape.

Tang Jie

Stone Story
Presented by Line Gallery

Having grown up in the countryside of Hunan Province, the artist yearns for the natural environment in the midst of a buzzing metropolis. He seeks to achieve this dynamic by incorporating natural and industrial elements in his works and the Fair provides a perfect setting. He believes that the objects themselves are “story tellers”. In Stone Story, he integrates objects of opposing characters to explore the natural principles of life and the universe together with the viewer.

Hannah Quinlivan

Estuary
Presented by .M Contemporary

Inspired by Henri Lefebvre’s Rhythmanalysis, Quinlivan used ephemeral spatial drawing to apprehend and intervene in the rhythms of urban life and capture the dynamism of the Fair. The artist developed the artwork in two stages where she first installed the mesh of wire and nylon components prior to the Fair’s opening. She then spent the duration of the art fair to complete the salt component of the drawing in a manner that responds to the first phase of the installation and to the energy and flux of bodies in motion at Art Central. This dialectical performance approach constitutes a response to the Fair itself, its temporalities, its flows and its spaces.

Santi Wangchuan

Auba
Presented by Yeo Workshop

Thai artist, Santi Wangchuan introduces elements of his hometown culture and lifestyle in a large-scale installation consisting of three intricately woven “Auba” garlands approximately 10 meters tall. These garlands are monumental structures made by different villages to honour the Buddha during special festivals in Thailand. The installation, using rope, thread and fiber, will reinterpret this unique culture of the E-sarn region.

Yu Youhan

Mosaic
Presented by Rén Space

For Art Central 2017, Rén Space showcased a new masterpiece by Yu Youhan. The work is a culmination of his exploration with old materials and new techniques that presented his artistic expression on the largest scale to date. Yu Youhan is a revered and pioneering first generation contemporary Chinese artist who is widely considered as the father of abstract paintings and political pop in China.

Jims Lam Chi Hang

Curatorial Director

Jims Lam Chi Hang is an artist, curator, producer and former Head of Production and Associate Curator at Para Site, one of the leading independent art institutions in Asia. In 2015, Lam curated an exhibition Imagine there’s no country, Above us only our cities which attracted critical acclaim with its inquiry into the notion of individual identity, within the context of nationalism and geographical boundaries. Lam trained at the Academy of Visual Arts, Hong Kong Baptist University and won the prestigious Hong Kong Art Prize in 2013.

PROJECTS 2017

Curated by Jims Lam Chi Hang, former associate curator at Para Site, PROJECTS celebrated large-scale contemporary installations and interventions that showcase works made distinctive raw materials.

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT