2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

楊正旭

《Scenery of Dialogue》
由 Gallery Hyundai 呈獻

楊正旭以動感雕塑享負盛名,力求破解日常生活的節奏和時序。他的作品都是由個人經歷衍生的感情自述,以木、絲線和其他物料,一一轉化為帶有動感的藝術雕塑。他把自己的創作稱為「重複勞動」,在雕塑中配置引擎和LED 燈,探索和反映他每件作品中的溝通語言。他受Art Central委約創作的《Scenery of Dialogue》,不靠電力自行流動,是他首個動感作品。

王俊豪

《Shanzhai Chandelier》
由 Richard Koh Fine Art 呈獻

建築師兼藝術家王俊豪以跨界的創作,打破燈光藝術的界限。他遊走於應用藝術和純藝術之間,以大型的結構燈光裝置震撼藝壇,探討了大量生產和人類互動的關係。這次的作品聚集了眾多 LED 燈管,呈現歐洲水晶吊燈的經典形態。以往人們曾以寶石折射燭光,他則以 LED 像素做到人工照明,寓意奢華罕貴與大量生產之間的分野日趨模糊。

Andrea Wolf 及 Karolina Ziulkoski

《Future Past News》
由 Isabel Croxatto Galerie 呈獻

Andrea Wolf 及 Karolina Ziulkoski 合創的作品,運用擴增實境技術,對比了當今的全球時局與1937年戰前的動盪歲月,揭示令人惴惴不安的雷同之處。參觀者置身於1937年的客廳,當中播放著當年新聞的舊式電視,是整個裝置的矚目焦點。新聞片最後報道了一個惡耗:「日本天皇、史太林、希特拉、墨索里尼和羅斯福,這五個男人手握世界的命運。」觀者亦可透過預設的擴增實境應用程式,在iPad重溫這則新聞。創作者把1937年的舊聞與現在的新聞詭異地層疊並置,兩者平衡共存,教人深感不安。

張曉棟

《The Red Chamber》
由 Sin Sin Fine Art 呈獻

張曉棟擅長重現中國幾近失傳的古老書籍裝幀技藝「龍鱗裝」,是首位活現這種繁複而精緻裝幀方法的人,今年的裝置匯萃很榮幸能夠展示其不朽傑作。他花了四年完成整個創作程序,獨創出折疊式的「龍鱗裝」裝幀技巧,展現中國四大名著之一的《紅樓夢》。Art Central 的觀展者可以大開眼界,透過現代的手法,欣賞失落的中國文化傳統風韻。

Penelope Davis

《Sea-Change》
由 MARS Gallery 呈獻

Penelope Davis 利用當代科技製品的碎片,包括電線、電腦零件、包裝碎片、塑料瓶和其他廢品,結合諸如樹葉和海草等的有機材料創造出變異的水母裝置。 Davis 將人類在城市中無節制的消費和自然存在的有機體纏繞,意圖創造出一種平衡。該作品反思、體現一種私密的企圖:對自然環境的挽回及欣賞,以及對人類與自然共存的未來的設想。

Entang Wiharso

《I want to Live 100 Hundred Years: After Agreement》
由 Marc Straus 呈獻

《I want to Live 100 Hundred Years: After Agreement》表達了 Entang Wiharso 想為下一代創造更美好的未來的願景。該作品情緒飽滿,從個人角度出發反思學校發生的槍擊案件,同時紀念、哀悼遇難的無辜兒童,對及其他所有遭受暴力的人們表達支持。所有的人物通過纏繞的網絡聯繫在一起,展現了父母與子女之間至關重要卻無比脆弱的聯繫。

郭瑛

策展顧問

郭瑛是香港的獨立策展人,曾與各國及國際的不同形式藝術和文化機構合作,包括藝術家活動、藝術節、公共博物館和商界機構等。她的策展以研究為主,往往結合當代視覺藝術的不同藝術形式,從現場的獨特委約、表演,到電影和錄像不等。郭瑛為大館當代美術館展覽及衛爾康基金會策展了《疫症都市:既遠亦近》,也是2017年LOOK國際攝影節的首席策展人,以及西九文化館為跨領域藝術家楊嘉輝參展第57屆威尼斯雙年展舉辦《楊嘉輝的賑災專輯 世界巡迴演》的客席策展人。郭瑛投身獨立策展事業前,於2006年至2012年曾擔任英國曼徹斯特華人當代藝術中心的策展人。

郭瑛在策展以外,於2014年與本地藝術工作者成立 Art Appraisal Club,在香港鼓吹批判思維和促進業界交流和討論。該會經常於不同雜誌、文化網絡和他們創辦的中英文半年刊《藝評香港》發表展覽評論文章。

裝置藝術 2018

2018年的裝置匯萃網羅了當代藝術的兩個重要面貌:如科技、擴增實境和動感藝術的先進媒體;以及深入的歷史和文化論述。裝置匯萃2018請來郭瑛擔任策展人。

2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT
HONG KONG

Yang Jung Uk

Scenery of Dialogue
Presented by Gallery Hyundai

Yang Jung Uk is primarily recognised for his kinetic sculptures, that seeks to formatively unravel the rhythms and sequences of daily life. Yang’s work consists of lyrical texts derived from his personal experiences, which are transformed into kinetic sculptures made of wood, thread and other materials. Repetitive kinetic elements — from motors and LED lights within the sculptures — realise and reflect the narrative texts that accompany each of his works. Scenery of Dialogue – a special commission for Art Central – is the artist’s first ever mobile work, creating kinetic movement without the use of electrical power.

Wong Jun On

Shanzhai Chandelier
Presented by Richard Koh Fine Art

Wong Jun On is an architect and artist, his cross disciplinary practice explores the boundaries of light art. Straddling applied and fine art, he is known for producing large-scale structural light installations that explore the relationships between mass production and human interactions. In this work LED light components come together to echo the classical form of an European chandelier. Where precious stones were once used to reflect candle light, LED pixels now create artificial illumination, a metaphor of the blurring boundaries between luxury and the mass produced.

Andrea Wolf and Karolina Ziulkoski

Future Past News
Presented by Isabel Croxatto Galerie

This work is a collaborative project by Andrea Wolf and Karolina Ziulkoski, employing augmented reality technology, the work seeks to expose the disturbing parallels between current global affairs and the pre-war turmoil of 1937. The installation situates the viewer in a 1937 living room, where the focal point is a television set playing archive news footage from the period. The newsreel ends with an ominous message of reading “in the hands of these five men rested the destiny of the world: Mikado, Stalin, Hitler, Mussolini and Franklin Delano Roosevelt”. Viewers are invited to review the newsreel through an iPad, programmed with an augmented reality app. The news of 1937 is eerily layered and juxtaposed with present day news, striking a disconcerting parallel.

Zhang Xiaodong

Dream of The Red Chamber
Presented by Sin Sin Fine Art

Zhang Xiaodong is known for reviving the lost and ancient Chinese technique of Dragon-Scale binding. Zhang is the first individual to revive this intricate method, and presented an exemplary artwork in PROJECTS. Taking over four years to complete the process, Zhang employs his innovative accordion-dragon scale binding technique to present Dream of the Red Chamber, widely recognised as one of the four great novels of classical Chinese literature. Audiences of Art Central were invited to rediscover the cornerstone of Chinese culture, reinterpreted through the contemporary lens.

Penelope Davis

Sea-Change
Presented by MARS Gallery

Penelope Davis uses the detritus of contemporary technologies – including electrical cords, computer parts, packaging scraps, plastic bottles and other waste – combined with organic source materials such as leaves and seaweed to create hybrid forms that resemble plausible but mutant jellyfish. Davis directly entwines references to human consumption in an urban world to natural forms to envision a delicate balance. The work reflects on, and embodies, an intimate attempt to recuperate and draw appreciation for the natural world and our symbiotic relationship to its future.

Entang Wiharso

I want to Live 100 Hundred Years: After Agreement
Presented by Marc Straus

I Want to Live 100 Hundred Years: After Agreement is the expressions of Entang Wiharso’s dream to create a better and more peaceful future for children. The artist’s project is an emotional, personal reflection on mass-shootings in schools, and is a memorial for those innocent children and for all people facing violence. The figures are bound together through an intersecting network, showing the essential but vulnerable connections that exist between parents and children.

Ying Kwok

Curatorial Director

Ying Kwok is an independent curator based in Hong Kong. She works independently with a diverse range of art and cultural institutions nationally and internationally, from artist’s initiatives, art festivals, to public museums and the commercial sector. Her research-based curating often synthesizes different art forms in contemporary visual art, from site specific commissions, performances, to film and video. Kwok has been the curator for Contagious Cities: Far Away, too Close for Tai Kwun Contemporary and Wellcome Trust, the lead curator of LOOK International Photography Festival 2017, and guest curator at M+ for Samson Young: Songs for Disaster Relief as Hong Kong presentation at the 57th Venice Biennale. Before embarking on her independent career, Kwok was the curator at the Centre for Chinese Contemporary Art in Manchester UK, between 2006 and 2012.

Apart from curating, Kwok also founded Art Appraisal Club with a group of local art professionals in 2014, in order to encourage critical thinking and initiating effective art discussions in Hong Kong. The group provides regular exhibition reviews and their articles are published in magazines, various cultural networks and their own bilingual journal, Art Review Hong Kong.

PROJECTS 2018

In 2018, PROJECTS featured two important facets of contemporary art practice: progressive mediums such as technology, augmented reality and kinetic art, alongside insightful historical and cultural narratives.

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT