2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

Art Central的2024影像藝術節目「Future Visions」,透過於展會特設的 LED 牆上展示受邀藝術家的最新作品,探索動態影像領域的新藝術。入選的藝術家來自非洲、澳洲、歐洲和東亞,他們都是極具創新性思維的藝術家,利用視聽媒體的動態性和創造性,表達個人對未來的想像。

林怡平(生於1993年,台灣/美國)
陳省聿(生於1994年,台灣)

《居家符號學》,2023
單頻道影像
7’55”

這段影像向瑪莎.羅斯勒著名的女權主義作品《廚房的符號學》致敬,探討工業化結構與其容納之親密家庭空間的矛盾關係,並正視建構我們日常的機械化、西西弗斯式勞動。藝術家們利用廢物流的物質轉換過程,並以垃圾場為隱喻,闡述事物的意義和價值如何在日常生活被構建、解構、再重構。昔日將空間、個體、社會群體及活動分隔的結構,在傾倒、分類、回收的過程裏分崩離析。

盧克.康羅伊(生於1990年,澳洲)
安娜.費雷斯(生於1988年,荷蘭)

《伸展運動》,2023
彩色4K,立體聲
14’52”

《伸展運動》是一部實驗短片,透過一場荒誕而超現實的虛擬瑜伽課程反映自然與人類的關係。在畫面外的旁白——假定他是空氣的化身——對錄像中的人發出指令,構成一個超現實場景,顛覆典型的人類/自然等級關係。與「非人」的接觸創造了一個極具意義的機會,讓我們擁抱想象力,反思以往對自然世界根深蒂固的假設。 《伸展運動》將自然描繪成一種影響他們的積極力量,鼓勵觀眾重新思考他們對自然的被動觀點。

Francois Knoetze(生於1989年,南非)
Russel Hlongwane(生於1987年,南非)
Amy Louise Wilson(生於1991年,美國)

《Dzata: The Institute of Technological Consciousness》,2023
08’25”

這段影像由三位南非藝術家創作,調查非洲大陸各地的本土技術實踐。這個創意研究項目以虛構研究所和檔案館的形式,強調了科學、技術和創新與本土知識之間根深蒂固的關係。這段影像以紀錄片與詩歌之間的互文對話,進行對後殖民時代現代技術構成要素的僞人類學思考。

賀子珂(生於1990年,中國)

《亂碼城市》, 2023
影片
14’20”
© VH AWARD by Hyundai Motor Group
受VH AWARD of Hyundai Motor Group委託

《亂碼城市》以大數據基礎設施中心城市貴陽爲背景,講述了一個發人深省的故事。在貴陽市中央數據中心意外崩潰並重啓後,通過後啓示錄的視角,深入探討記憶與數字技術之間錯綜複雜的關係。「隨機存取」既指用於記憶處理的技術術語,也探討科技成爲生活不可分割的一部分的社會記憶,並於科技在塑造記憶所扮演的角色,以及人類如何感知周圍世界方面提出了引人入勝的問題。

區秀詒(生於1978年,馬來西亞) x 陳侑汝(生於1984年,台灣) (她的實驗室空間集)

《家族飛行計畫》,2023
7’54”

在《家族飛行計畫》中,由變種蝙蝠、鱷魚和野豬組成的搖滾樂隊與 1967 年神秘失踪於金馬崙高原的月光別墅的泰國絲綢大亨Jim Thompson進行了一場穿越時空的對話。復古科幻時空的交織結合密碼程式碼和時間的斷裂,短片作品揭示了冷戰權力鬥爭的共鳴和幽靈。

《家族飛行計畫》是陳侑汝和區秀詒於2020年發起的合作項目「如果,家族旅行」的一部分。

本作品為新北市美術館委託製作

Elisa Strinna(生於1982年,義大利

《The Antarctic Gardener》,2022
24’

一位雌雄同體的科學家生活受困在南極洲,照顧著用於太空殖民的人工生態系統。這個結晶世界的核心由虛擬關係、人造太陽和溶解在空氣中的營養物質構成,並瀰漫著極端孤立的情緒溫度。 《The Antarctic Gardener》模糊了現實與虛構之間的界限,深入探索感覺已經存在當下的未來,讓人想起科幻小說的敘述。 

王裕言(生於1989年,中國)

《看見黑暗》,2023
17′

在一個由電纜與光纖構成的時代,我們最未來主義的憧憬依然紮根於古老的岩質年代。在黑暗之中,人們被驅使以最耀眼的方式發光。

2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT
HONG KONG

Art Central’s 2024 Video Art programme, Future Visions, explores new art from the field of moving images, a forward-thinking showcase of leading artists who have been invited to present recent works on the Fair’s LED wall. Hailing from diverse parts of the planet, from Africa to Australia and Europe to East Asia, the artists selected are innovative thinkers who employ the dynamic and creative nature of the audio-visual medium to address individual imaginings of the future.

Jessi Ali Lin (b. 1993, Taiwan/USA)
Hsin-Yu Chen (b. 1994, Taiwan)

Semiotics of the Home, 2023
Single-channel video
7’55”

A homage to the iconic feminist parody Semiotics of the Kitchen by Martha Rosler, this video work probes the paradoxical relationship between industrially built structures and the intimate domestic spaces they house, confronting the mechanised Sisyphean labour that constructs our everyday reality. Working with the transformative material process at the waste stream, the artists employ a refuse dump as a metaphor for how meaning and value are constructed, deconstructed, and reconstructed in our daily lives. Structures that once stratified and divided spaces, people, social groups, and activities are collapsed by ways of dumping, sorting, and recycling.

Luke Conroy (b. 1990, Devonport, Australia)
Anne Fehres (b. 1988, The Hague, the Netherlands)

Unfolding, 2023
Colour 4K video, stereo sound
14’52”

Unfolding is an experimental short film reflecting on the relationship between nature and humanity through an absurd VR yoga session from the year 2070. Reversing the typical human versus nature hierarchy, an offscreen narrator – who we assume to be the personification of air – gives instructions to the film’s subject, revealing a surreal scene. An engagement with the ‘other-than-human’ creates a meaningful opportunity to embrace imagination and reflect on previously ingrained assumptions towards the natural world.  Unfolding encourages viewers to rethink their passive perspective on nature, as it portrays nature as an active force that affects them.

Francois Knoetze (b. 1989, Africa)
Russel Hlongwane (b. 1989, Africa)
Amy Louise Wilson (b. 1991, USA)

Dzata: The Institute of Technological Consciousness, 2023
8’25”

A creative research project by three South African artists, this video investigates vernacular technological practices found across the African continent. Presented in the form of a fictional institute and archive, the project foregrounds the deep-rooted relationship of science, technology and innovation with that of indigenous knowledge. An intertextual conversation between the documentary and the poetic, the video is a pseudo-anthropological take on what constitutes modern technology in the post-colonial era.

Zike He (b. 1990, China)

Random Access, 2023
Video
14’20
© VH AWARD by Hyundai Motor Group
Commissioned by VH AWARD of Hyundai Motor Group

Random Access presents a thought-provoking narrative set in the city of Guiyang, a hub of big data infrastructures. The story unfolds after an unexpected crash and reboot of the city’s central data centre and delves into the intricate relationship between memory and digital technology through a post-apocalyptic lens. The title, Random Access, alludes to both the technical term used for memory processing as well as the film’s exploration of memory in a society where technology has become an integral part of our lives. Random Access raises intriguing questions about the role of technology in shaping our memories and how we perceive the world around us.

Au Sow Yee (b. 1978, Malaysia) × Chen Yow-Ruu (b. 1984, Taiwan) (Her Lab Space)

Aerofuture, 2023
7’54”
Courtesy of the artists

In Aerofuture, a rock band of mutant bats, crocodiles, and wild boars engages in a time-travelling conversation with Jim Thompson, the Thai silk tycoon who mysteriously disappeared in the Moonlight Villa on Cameron Highlands in 1967. Interweaving retro-sci-fi space-time complete with secret codes and ruptures of time, the short film unveils resonances and ghosts of Cold War power struggles.

Aerofuture is part of the collaborative project If, a Family Trip initiated by Chen Yow-Ruu and Au Sow Yee in 2020.

The work was commissioned by New Taipei City Art Museum.

Elisa Strinna (b. 1982, Italy)

The Antarctic Gardener, 2022
24′

An androgynous scientist lives confined in Antarctica, taking care of an artificial ecosystem for space colonisation. Virtual relationships, artificial suns, and nutrients dissolved in the air are the core of a crystallised world pervaded by the emotional temperature of extreme isolation. The Antarctic Gardener blurs the boundaries between reality and fiction, delving into a future that already feels present, reminiscent of science fiction narratives.

Yuyan Wang (b. 1989, China)

Look On the Bright Side, 2023
17′

In an age of wire and string, futuristic visions anchor in lithic time. In the dark, people are driven to shine in the most spectacular ways. Light, emitted from our digital extensions, has roots traversing millions, even billions of years.

28–31 MARCH 2024
CENTRAL HARBOURFRONT