2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

2019

裝置藝術 2019

裝置匯萃由郭瑛擔任策展人,為Art Central帶來嶄新形式和規模的裝置藝術,展示當代藝術的風範。2019年的裝置匯萃帶來六個前衛的裝置藝術,運用不同的媒介,深入探討藝術中的歷史和文化故事。

Seungean Cha​ (韓國)

Triple Twill Triptych, Atelier Aki

南韓藝術家Seungean Cha以編織手法繪畫,參照傳統韓國藝術以及現代西方抽象風格。三件將在「裝置匯萃」中展示的作品均與時間和進度的概念環環相扣。藝術家藉由作品演示了「排列時間」的主題  ── 事物均有既定的先後秩序,需要循序漸進。

Seungean Cha的作品既是紡織品也是畫作, 藝術家運用兩種媒介對比強烈的特質,重新審視存在於繪畫與編織、視覺重現與觸覺存在、概念與物質之間千絲萬縷的關係。藝術家透過重新排列整理,梳理過去與現在種種紊亂的時間和體驗。

Lê Giang​​ (越南)

Phản Niệm, Vin Gallery

「亭」是古代越南的傳統建築,被用作宗教崇拜和聚會的公共場所。以與傳統工匠同樣的建築手法, 新銳藝術家 Lê Giang 重塑了建築之中的四件雕塑,每件都包含了越南歷史中黎朝年代的重要價值觀。位於角落的物件以「亭」的常見主題裝飾,傳遞一種專屬於這種傳統建築的空間感; 位於作品中央的祭壇體現了結構的精神核心。

刻在轉軸裝飾上的字眼「反念」引起了各種聯想, 發出深層次的提問: 「這是記憶的倒影, 還是一個反對概念主義思想的陳述?」觀眾可以在作品中的木塊上找到由中越研究員Nguyen Dinh Hung 譜出的文字; 從遺跡廢墟中發現的腐爛碑銘文中衍生出來的思緒。反覆被翻譯和重新翻譯的中越碑文挑戰觀眾對真實性和歷史的認知, 質疑這種翻譯文物的有效性: 「我們真的能夠完全相信這些文字所具有的真正價值? 在不斷被演繹及轉化的過程中, 誰又有能夠具有辨別歷史真偽的權威?

阮家儀(香港)

City Rhapsody – Project Roseate,李安姿當代空間

香港藝術家阮家儀以城市文化作為主要創作題材,探討城市發展過程中逐漸消失的價值觀及城市容貌。透過裝置藝術和攝影,藝術家思考城市發展與城市價值之間相互抗衡而又不可分割的關係。作品 City Rhapsody – Project Roseate 以在本地搜集的製造業物料堆砌天際線和城市景觀,當中每個物件都標誌著香港50-60年代製造業的興盛時代。利用塑料玩具,藝術家為香港構築了一個個假想的樂土 ──香港人夢寐以求的家。

卓穎嵐(香港)

AK7 shou3, 李安姿當代空間

香港跨媒體藝術家卓穎嵐將呈獻場地特定的互動作品 ak7 shou3,建基於一件前作, 該裝置作品融入了小提琴、大提琴、錄音機和揚聲器等元素。裝置的邊緣安裝了感應器, 在觀眾移向作品的同時, 感應器將被觸動並發出聲響。每個細微的動作都將改變絃樂器與錄音帶之間微妙的平衡, 揭示過去、現在與未來之間的相互關係。卓穎嵐熱衷呈現光與影、聲音與空間之間的關聯。藝術家致力用現代電腦技術將聲音與其他媒介混和, 發展出新的概念。

PHUNK​ (新加坡)

HOPE, ROCK, KISS, LIVE, Art Seasons

新加坡當代藝術及設計組合PHUNK呈獻的作品 HOPE, ROCK, KISS, LIVE 希望藉作品喚起觀者的積極的情緒。在紛亂及充滿變化的時代,人們需要面對各種由破壞性創新、氣候變化、社會不平等及政治不公等現象所帶來的困惑。作品由街頭海報不停變化的型態組成,一層層被撕去的海報揭示了變幻無常的時事現狀,撕裂的紙張殘留在作品上,成為串聯過去、現在與未來的紀念碑,提示觀眾改變本是人文精神煥發新生的契機。

Heri Dono​ (印尼)

Smiling Angels from the Sky, The Collumns Gallery

Smiling Angels from the Sky 是由著名印尼藝術家 Heri Dono 創作的裝置作品, 以融合當代影響以及傳統民俗元素而為人所知, Heri Dono 曾在2015年代表印尼出展第56屆威尼藝術雙年展, 其作品為重要藝術機構如德意志古根漢美術館、日本福岡市美術館、新加坡美術館、澳洲國立美術館以及荷蘭熱帶博物館等所收藏。一如Heri Dono的其他作品, 天使的形象並非與任何特定宗教有所關聯, 而是空靈的象徵。在這個具標誌性的裝置當中, 面帶微笑的天使從天而降, 代表面對未來的熱忱, 象徵對生命的論述。

策展人介紹:郭瑛

郭瑛是香港的獨立策展人,曾與各國及國際的不同形式藝術和文化機構合作,包括藝術家活動、藝術節、公共博物館和商界機構等。她的策展以研究為主,往往結合當代視覺藝術的不同藝術形式,從現場的獨特委約、表演,到電影和錄像不等。郭瑛為大館當代美術館展覽及衛爾康基金會策展了《疫症都市:既遠亦近》,也是2017年LOOK國際攝影節的首席策展人,以及西九文化館為跨領域藝術家楊嘉輝參展第57屆威尼斯雙年展舉辦《楊嘉輝的賑災專輯 世界巡迴演》的客席策展人。郭瑛投身獨立策展事業前,於2006年至2012年曾擔任英國曼徹斯特華人當代藝術中心的策展人。
郭瑛在策展以外,於2014與本地藝術工作者成立Art Appraisal Club,在香港鼓吹批判思維和促進業界交流和討論。該會經常於不同雜誌、文化網絡和他們創辦的中英文半年刊《藝評香港》發表展覽評論文章。
2024年3月28至31日
中環海濱香港

22 – 26 MARCH 2021
HONG KONG

2019

PROJECTS 2019

Curated by Ying Kwok, Projects 2019 provided Art Central with a platform to support the presentation of contemporary art with aspirations of scale and non-traditional approaches.

Seungean Cha​ (South Korea)


Triple Twill Triptych,
presented by Atelier Aki

Korean artist Seungean Cha creates paintings through a weaving method, in reference to Korean and Western modern abstract work. The newly commissioned work to be shown at Art Central is deeply entwined with the idea of time and progress – through the act of weaving, the theme of ‘arranging the time’ is realised by the artist, with the next step of the process not able to happen without observing the time needed to complete the previous one. With the features of her work being both textiles and paintings, these contrasting characteristics allow her to contemplate relationships between painting and weaving, visual representation and tactile existence, and ideas and substance. Cha sees her work as an opportunity to rearrange the tangled time and experiences of the past in conjunction with the present.

Lê Giang​​ (Vietnam)


Phản Niệm,
presented by Vin Gallery

A traditional building from ancient Vietnam, the đình is a public space for worshipping and communal gatherings. Using the same architectural methods as traditional craftsmen, emerging young artist Lê Giang has recreated four sculptural replications, each holding important values from the Lê dynasty. The corner object, decorated with typical đình motifs, evokes a sense of spatiality found particularly in this traditional architecture, while the altar placed in the center embodies the spiritual core of the structure.  The scroll ornament engraved with the words “Phản Niệm” proposes a variety of associations and underlying questions: Is this a reflection of a memory, or a statement against the idea of conceptualism?

Angela Yuen​ (Hong Kong)


City Rhapsody – Project Roseate
, presented by Contemporary by Angela Li

Hong Kong artist Angela Yuen’s art practise focuses on urban culture; a tangible expression of the disappearing city’s values and the local cityscape. Angela looks to explore the correlation between urban development and the city’s value via the mediums of installation and photography. City Rhapsody – Project Roseate is an imaginary skyline made from locally sourced manufacturing objects, each marking a significant era from Hong Kong’s manufacturing past in the 1950s and 60s. Using plastic toys, the artist has constructed a series of “dreamscapes” – a fantasy homeland that people from that time may have visualised. The spinning sculpture, meanwhile, resembles the once-endless sprawl, and the motion of spinning is a metaphor of the city’s dynamic movement. The closer people engage with the city, the more complex and dynamic it becomes.

Cheuk Wing Nam​ (Hong Kong)


AK7 shou3
, presented by Contemporary by Angela Li

Hong Kong interdisciplinary artist Cheuk Wing Nam incorporates new elements into a site-specific reworking of the audience participatory Ak7 shou3, an installation comprised of a violin, a cello, cassette players and speakers. With sensors attached to the edge of the installation, sound will be emitted as members of the audience approach the work. Each subtle interaction will influence the delicate balance between the string instruments and the tape, revealing the interrelationship between past, present and future. Cheuk Wing Nam is devoted to developing new concepts by mixing sound and other media with modern computer technology in her art, with an interest to demonstrate the relationships between light and shadow, and between sound and space.

PHUNK​ (Singapore)

HOPE, ROCK, KISS, LIVE, presented by Art Seasons

HOPE, ROCK, KISS, LIVE, presented by Singapore-based contemporary art and design collective PHUNK, aims to evoke positive emotions about the current state of the world, which is filled with uncertainties brought about by technological disruption, climate change, social inequality and political injustice. The artwork is formed by the changing appearance of street posters, where the peeled off layers reveal the impermanence of current events. The aftermath of the paper tears serves as a memorial to the past, and a reminder to embrace change as a renewal of the human spirit.

Heri Dono​ (Indonesia)


Smiling Angels from the Sky
,
presented by The Collumns Gallery

Smiling Angels from the Sky is an installation by renowned Indonesian artist Heri Dono. Known for his characteristic merging of contemporary influences with traditional and folkloric elements, Heri Dono represented Indonesia in the 56th Venice Biennale in 2015 and his works have been acquired by major institutions such as the Deutsche Guggenheim, the Fukuoka Art Museum, the Singapore Art Museum, the National Gallery of Australia, and the Tropenmuseum, among others. A recurring element of Heri Dono’s work, the angels are unrelated to any particular religion but are a symbol of the ethereal spirit. 

In this iconic configuration, Heri Dono’s smiling angels represent enthusiasm in facing the future. The angels who come from the sky are a symbol of the discourse of life, where imagination, fantasy, dreams inspire the building a noble life, culture and civilization for humans and the wider universe; bringing ‘Chakra’ energy from the gods, the fire of life.

About the Curator, Ying Kwok

Ying Kwok is an independent curator based in Hong Kong. She works independently with a diverse range of art and cultural institutions nationally and internationally, from artist’s initiatives, art festivals, to public museums and the commercial sector. Her research-based curating often synthesizes different art forms in contemporary visual art, from site specific commissions, performances, to film and video. Kwok has been the curator for Contagious Cities: Far Away, too Close for Tai Kwun Contemporary and Wellcome Trust, the lead curator of LOOK International Photography Festival 2017, and guest curator at M+ for Samson Young: Songs for Disaster Relief as Hong Kong presentation at the 57th Venice Biennale. Before embarking on her independent career, Kwok was the curator at the Centre for Chinese Contemporary Art in Manchester UK, between 2006 and 2012.

Apart from curating, Kwok also founded Art Appraisal Club with a group of local art professionals in 2014, in order to encourage critical thinking and initiating effective art discussions in Hong Kong. The group provides regular exhibition reviews and their articles are published in magazines, various cultural networks and their own bilingual journal, Art Review Hong Kong.